fish!
fish!
2004-01-03
12:33 p.m.
I've returned with a survey.

Hey, everyone. It's so strange to see that "2004" at the top of these entries now. I have finally returned from Michigan, finally returned to sleeping peacefully in my own bed, finally returned to my cat and my digital cable.

I'd write all about the trip, but there isn't much to tell, really. We did a lot of just hanging out, playing video games, eating, driving, etc. Um, oh yeah. I got bitten.

I have a hypothesis that bumper stickers are the ultimate form of passive-aggression. Not that there's anything wrong with that, mind you. I'm just saying.

But rather than write about all of that, I think I'll instead take a pseudo-generic survey, as stolen from kiki-blue who stole it from someone else, who probably stole it from someone else. And the love continues.

1.What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?

I left the country. Mom took me on a cruise to the Bahamas, for those of you who haven't heard about it enough. Best trip ever.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I honestly don't remember what my resolutions were last year. Maybe I should get on that. As a rule, I try not to make resolutions, since I never remember what exactly I have resolved to do, and typically set myself up for failure. Bad Alyssa. Bad.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My coworker, Jennifer, had little baby Wyatt a couple of months ago. We're not exactly close, but I did help plan her baby shower. Does that count? My friend Susan, whom I've known forever, got pregnant, though, so I guess that counts for something.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Not close to me. Niki's mom died, which was terrible, but knock wood I haven't really lost anyone close to me yet.

5. What countries did you visit?

Nassau. That's the extent of it. I guess we could've driven up to Canada while in Michigan, but I was antsy to get home.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

Um...a date would be nice. But I probably say that every year. Certainly more self-confidence and more time spent with the people I love.

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I don't really have a specific date, I think. Possibly Sept. 11, 2003, because that's the day Matt and I saw Margaret Cho in concert.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Probably getting in to graduate school, I guess.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Money. I suck at money. I could probably build a house with the overdraft fees the damn bank has charged me for.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I broke my toe. That's probably the worst thing that happened to me, physically, for the year. How uneventful. This year I resolve to have a colostomy.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Mister Bojangles, my cat, who, although he woke me up this morning by attempting to eat my hand, is still the sweetest pet I've ever had.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

All of my friends did something pretty awesome this year. Matt got himself a new job. Casey managed to earn a full ride to law school, and then survivied his first semester without killing himself, me, or any of his professors. Jordan got accepted into medical school. Gina got a brand new car, and moved out on her own. Susan is having a baby. I could probably go on, but most of you don't know these people at all.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

My boss, Ester, who proudly announced that there was no such thing as date rape.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Bills. Bills, bills, bills. Living alone is breaking my neck.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

American Wedding. Sadly, I was disappointed.

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?

Probably "Hey ya" or any other goofy ass song that has been overplayed on the radio. Go die, people for overexposure. Oh yeah, and anything off of the Linkin Park album or The Matrix soundtracks. Because Casey really, really, really likes to listen to the same cds until I can't take it anymore. But I still love him.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder?... - Probably the same. A little more lethargic.

ii. thinner or fatter?... - the same. My weight never fluctuates anymore.

iii. richer or poorer? - It seems like I'm poorer, although I probably am always just barely scraping by.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Exercising, most definitely.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Hating my job. Every day that goes by, I loathe it a little bit more.

20. How will you be spending New Years?

It was spent in Michigan, with Casey, Barnaby and Melissa, and their friends, Kevin and Marie. We played Cranium, and drank quite a bit. And I also decided in my infinite wisdom that I should most definitely have sex in someone else's grandparents' house. In their bedroom, even. I rule.

The editors of lyssbobiss at diaryland are sad to report that there is no question 21. Boo on that.

22. Did you fall in love in 2003?

Eh, probably not. Sometimes I think I'm in love with people, and it turns out to be more of an addiction. I don't know, ask me again next year.

23. How many one-night stands?

One, I guess. Go me. How embarassing. Am I too old for this yet?

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Queer as Folk, as always, Queer Eye for the Straight Guy, Carnivale, and The Simpsons. Oh, and Family Guy. I'm really starting to get into that show.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Ester. And Dubya. I don't think my feelings about him were nearly so volatile this time last year.

26. What was the best book you read?

Good in Bed, by Jennifer Weiner. I was quite excited about it.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Gavin Degraw, without a doubt. I really, really wish that the radio stations would get more into him, and less into Outkast, Kelis, and Three Doors Down.

28. What did you want and get?

A vacation. And a killer score on the GRE.

Again, sad to report that there was no question 29. I could've just changed the numbering, but then there wouldn't be a nice, even 40 questions, would there?

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

The Matrix: Reloaded. I'd say "Revolutions," but I think I was more into the second one than the third.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I was 23. We went to eat at Damon's and then proceeded to Club 141, which is a gay bar downtown. I drank way too much, ate at an Arby's on the way home, kissed a drag queen, and had sex in an alley. It was pretty damn eventful.

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Financial stability. And love. Or some semblance thereof.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

It tends to fluctuate between baggy shirt and jeans, and classic feminine. Depends on my mood, and how I feel about my ass that day.

34. What kept you sane?

The wonderful people who make Zoloft, I suppose. And my friends.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Keanu Reeves, Gale Harold, Jai Rodriguez, Heather Juergensen.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

Gay marriage. And the following people associated with pissing me off:

- Ann Coulter

- Dubya

- The Pope

- Rick Santorum

- Billy Graham

- James Dobson

- Toby Keith

- Bill O'Reilly

I think that's about it for now.

37. Who did you miss?

Tiffany, without a doubt.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Jordan. And his sister, Megan.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003:

Not everyone is small-minded and hateful; some people need to be educated, because they've formed an opinion without all the facts. Always try to express what you know, and listen to what the other person knows.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

"Guess I'm grounded, got my wings clipped. I'm surrounded by all this pavement. Guess I'll circle while I'm waiting for my fuse to dry. Someday I'll fly. Someday I'll soar. Someday I'll be so damn much more. Cause I'm bigger than my body gives me credit for." - John Mayer.

That's it for now. Time to move this party to my couch.

Fin.



My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23