fish!
fish!
2004-01-07
12:16 a.m.
I'm going to start selling my body for money.

I'm blaming everything that is not quite happiness in my life right now on the weather.

First off, I know that my friends in the north, pacific northwest, cananda, alaska, etc, will think that I'm half-baked for bitching about this, but seriously, it was fucking 12 degrees outside tonight. 12. Twelve. As in, water froze 20 degrees ago!

Second. The good people at Kroger have decided to sell sushi in the deli. This isn't really something horribly wrong in my life as much as it is a social statement, but people, seriously. If you want sushi, and there's nothing wrong with wanting a little sushi now and again, don't get it at Kroger. It won't be tasty. Go to your local hole-in-the-wall foreign foods store and pay out the ass for it like normal people. If you're so broke that you have to get your sushi with your chips and salsa using a Kroger plus card, buy some turkey instead. Stay away from the raw fish wrapped in seaweed and rice.

I'm only telling you this for your own good.

I swear, if those bastards start packaging wasabi sauce next to cocktail, tartar, and other assorted sauces that I enjoy with a good fishy meal, I'm protesting.

Third, my internet connection keeps fucking up and throwing me off. Since I know fuck all about modern communication, I'm going to blame it on the cold.

Fourth, at roughly midnight last night, my cable completely went out, leaving me with only one channel. The rest of them don't work, I swear it. The only channel at my disposal? In an ironic gesture from the cable company, it's the TV guide channel. Isn't it nice of them to allow me to watch all of the shows I could be watching scroll past while I grumble at the television and do crossword puzzles?

For the record, my personal philosophy on why this happened is this:

While I was out of town over Christmas break, the person in the apartment below mine moved out, and rather than taking the name off of HER mailbox, she removed my name from my mailbox. The mailman, rather than checking to make sure that I had actually moved, instead took all of my mail away from me, and started keeping it at the post office. They then sent my mail to my OLD address. I had to take care of this whole debacle, and in the midst of it all, my cable bill got lost, and is therefore now late.

But I don't want to call them, because I'm sure that I'll get yelled at for not taking care of it anyway. Instead, I'm going to assume that it has nothing to do with my late bill and, yep, you guessed it, blame the weather.

Fuck you, cold front!

Want to hear about family drama? Yeah, you do. My dad is an asshole. I know we've all established this fact, but after sending me several emails berating me for not being adult enough to do what he wants me to do all the time, and accusing me of alienating his side of the family, he's now not speaking to me.

*For the record, the only reason that side of the family and I don't speak anymore is because they refused to call me when I was growing up, because, God forbid, my mom might answer the phone, and they might actually have to ASK for me. Isn't that terrible? I absolutely refuse to be treated this way...I'm the child in the relationship, and I expect them to act as adults, and if they want to see me, there shouldn't be any obstacle to stand in their way. It just shows to me what's more important. Their selfish pride comes before their oldest granddaughter. Fuck them.*

I told my dad that the only childish behaviour I felt guilty of to this day was continuing to allow myself to be bullied by people who claim to love me.

He hasn't spoken to me since.

Casey, who is wonderful, dragged me out of the house on Sunday, all day, so that I wouldn't be tempted to check my email, lest I find a horrible response from my father once again.

Casey is awesome.

However, I was forced to unwillingly endure 4 1/2 hours of football, a game which I cannot stand (more on that in a minute) in return.

Okay, the reason I don't like football: Yes, I'm American. Yes, there's nothing more fun than watching overweight men try to knock each other down. BUT. The thing is, part of the reason I don't like it is because I don't fully understand it. The biggest part, though, is that there just isn't enough action for me. Oh, sure, a guy will have the ball, and the clock won't stop for a good nine seconds. But really, how often does that happen? Once, maybe twice a game? I'm just more of a basketball girl myself. I grew up playing basketball, and I was actually very, very good at it, until all of the other girls grew taller than I, and I was the shortest forward in history.

How did I start talking about this? I just don't want to start getting a bunch of hateful messages, like: How DARE you insult the amazing game of football! Hey, if you like it, that's your thing. There are probably reruns of Sex and the City that I could be watching instead, though.

Is there anything else I wanted to say? Hmm...I'll tell you what I resolve to do this year: I need a job that doesn't make me hate myself and everyone around me. I know a low of people are unhappy in the workplace. I honestly do. But, my boss has said some things that, while ignorant, are extremely rude and hurtful. I don't expect that I'll always work in the most progressive office, but I'd like to work in one where the boss doesn't think I'd be best suited churning butter in the back with the other women. I'm just saying.

Also, I have been recruited to be a "wingman" in a pseudo-double date with Matt, his crush du jour, and a lesbian. We'll see how that works out.

Fin.



My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23