fish!
fish!
2004-01-22
12:30 a.m.
Sometimes Dubya makes a face that just says, "Look, daddy, I made poopy."

Hi, there!

With classes barely underway, I'm already feeling swamped. Today, one of the clinic directors told us to look ahead in our calendars while there is still blank space, and see when we'd be able to volunteer our services in the clinic here on campus.

I opened my schedule book. Page after page was filled with assignment deadlines, work schedules, Mary Kay meetings, baby showers, and all I could think was, "It's gonna get WORSE?" I didn't sign up for this, people.

I had this great diatribe all planned out, where I would just rip into the president because of the State of the Union Address. I'm not going to do that anymore. I think thsoe of you who read my diary frequently know exactly where I stand on these things, and I don't need to catalog my grievances here one by one. I will say one thing, though. At one point during the address I became so angry that I had to leave the room, and (I was at Casey's) I flopped down on the bed and cried. I have surprised myself with my own passions lately.

I called my mother this morning to scream about some of the things he said, but all she said was, "Alyssa, you know I love the way you love people. Your compassion is amazing, but, honey? It's eight o'clock in the morning and I'm at the doctor's office with your grandmother. How about another time, okay?"

I suppose to you have to pick your battles.

After I got back home I proceeded to vomit up everything from Christmas dinner, 1984. I was sick as a DOG, let me tell you.

Personally, I blame dubya. I think he worked me into a tizzy.

My classes are fascinating and great and all of that so far, but I'm feeling a little overwhelmed. Maybe now wasn't the best time to take on a new venture. I got all of my Mary Kay stuff in the mail today, and I'm overwhelmed. I have satin hands out the ass, though. Just so you know.

We watched this fascinating video today in my Gender Development class called "You Don't Know Dick." It was about transgendered individuals. Once again, I was pushed to the point of tears. That seems to be an almost constant state of being for me as of late. I'm sure it won't be long before I let loose on my classmates with gushing emotion.

And seriously? I haven't even had TIME to hate my job lately! Now that's really something, I tell you.

Have you all been watching the American Idol tryouts? Where are these children getting this deluded self-confidence? The president has it, too, recently. Hmm...something to marinate on.

All I know is, I do not, under any circumstances want to be known here, in New York City, or anywhere else in the world, as "Scat Girl." Goo.

With that, I must bid you farewell, as I have reading in personality assessment that I haven't yet accomplished. First week of class, and I'm already behind. Go me.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23