fish!
fish!
2004-01-26
11:35 a.m.
Incense and Peppermints

My city was coated with a sheet of ice over the weekend and now somewhat resembles an ice rink. I was quite a sight this morning as I trepidatiously scuffed down the stairs, thought about walking to work in these conditions, slid 5 inches to my left, and decided to drive instead.

This might have been a good idea, had I realized that I would spend the next half hour chipping ice off the hood of my car. Go me.

Anyway, the whole reason I thought it was so imperative that I get to work on time today was because I have class at 10 on Mondays, so I might as well already be here, right? You know, so I'm not late.

Yeah, too bad my class was cancelled, at 9:55. Nine fifty-five! That's consideration for ya.

Matt and I decided to get some doughnuts yesterday, which was probably the smartest and stupidest thing we've done in a while. Especially because I have zero footing in this weather, and I tend to hobble about like elderly or some such.

What a picture we were, standing in the freezing rain, Matt dragging me to his car because I was afraid to lift my foot off the groud. Matt, with his shattered ass and me with my shattered confidence. Like a fucking circus.

My cat tried to hang himself yesterday. In the blinds. I rescued him from certain peril, only so he go have another go at those damned blinds. Give me a break.

If there is a cat corpse in my apartment when I get home, so help me, I will scream.

You know what's weird? Everybody thinks Fountains of Wayne are some new band. Okay, they are so not. I saw them in January of 1997 when they opened for the Smashing Pumpkins. See? Old school, baby. That was seven years ago.

I'm done.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23