fish!
fish!
2004-01-29
7:19 p.m.
Painful headaches.

I'm not going to class anymore, and you can't make me.

Every single time I show my sparkling face in the classroom, I'm surprised with some new weekly requirement. The latest thing? I have supervision.

Supervision!

Am I even seeing clients yet? No, I am not.

Also, we had to choose a supervisor, a PhD student who had the same or a similar theoretical orientation to ours.

I listed 6 or 7 orientations that I thought I could be one of these days. We'll see who I get paired up with.

I'm tired of categorizing myself. Seriously. What had never been an issue in my life before has, in the past week, become a predominant theme.

I don't have a gender. To steal a phrase from comedienne Elvira Kurt, I'm "Fella Girly." You know - not really manly or butch by any stretch of the imagination, but I can't stand things like shopping and dresses. I've never known my nationality, because of the adoption and all. Pretty much the only thing I can deduce about that is that I am probably not from the Ivory Coast. I don't have a sexuality. I truly don't. Because to me, putting myself in any category says something about my romantic past to other people, and rules out every other possibility. No thanks.

And yet, I'm taking a course in Gender. I'm taking a course in sexuality. So now I have to answer these questions.

I'm looking forward to taking the MMPI next week, which is a huge test of psychopathology. At least in this case, I can define this much about myself based on an instrument. Thank you very much.

I had a recent change in medication (actually, a doubling of the dosage) which is causing these tremendous headaches. It's apparently a side effect that should go away in about a week. Meanwhile, little things in life, like sunlight, make me angry.

Mary Kay has taken more than a backseat in my life. More like a trunk. Or a trailer. There are about 600 things I have to do that DON'T involve unnecessary meetings.

Does anyone know what I should do this weekend? Something fun. Something that doesn't involve sitting in the same position on a sofa.

In other news, my old and crazy boss is suddenly in love with me. I don't know why. I think it's cause I came in to work on Monday when no one else would.

She probably doesn't like me right now, because I had to observe some counseling session in the clinic this morning, and had to call into work.

See? Every day, there's something else I have to do.

Screwdrivers made with vanilla vodka are outstanding. Seriously.

Dear cinema people,

Do you think you could bring Monster anywhere even CLOSE to Lexington? Seriously. I need to see this movie. Get it.

Thanks a bunch!

Alyssa

I just had to get that out of my system.

Will someone bring me dinner? Or some Krispy Kreme?

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23