fish!
fish!
2004-03-05
12:37 p.m.
Friday Five, et al.

I know it's been a while since I updated, but I thought I'd start with a good, old-fashioned Friday Five to kick it off. Or something.

What was...

1. ...your first grade teacher's name?

This is really sad...I have absolutely no idea. Dammit, I could name every other teacher I've ever had, but not that one. The old memory is fading in my decrepid state, you know.

2. ...your favorite Saturday morning cartoon?

The Smurfs, by far. When I got a little older, it was Animaniacs, but they didn't come out until I was at least in middle school.

3. ...the name of your very first best friend?

Blake. Followed by Phillip. Followed by Matthew. Followed by Jacob. Noticing a trend here?

4. ...your favorite breakfast cereal? I used to, and still do, go through phases of favorites. I remember being a big fan of Honey Nut Cheerios, Cap'n Crunch, and Lucky Charms.

5. ...your favorite thing to do after school?

Watch mtv. I wasn't allowed to when my parents were home, and I was a latchkey kid from about the age of 7 on, so after I got home, I'd watch all the videos and get my fill before the purtans, I mean, parents, got home.

What else is going on? I nearly had a mental breakdown this week. I'm doing okay now. Just too many things going on at the same time. But I got an assessment report back, and my teacher, who is probably the hardest in the department (not to mention one of the state's leading experts in personality/forensic testing) gave me an A. She said it was "Great."

That gives me the small confidence boost I need to make it to Spring Break, I think.

I also got the names of the people who I'm going to be "counseling." We have two Psych 101 students doing this for extra credit, and I have to meet with each of them for three sessions. I'll be judged and critiqued on my skills as a therapist. Yowza, indeed.

Plus, what the hell am I going to talk to a bunch of freshmen about. "Yeah, I'll bet your life IS stressful, trying to decide what to do with all of your free time...I'm sorry to hear that your parents won't be paying your credit card bills anymore. Let me empathize with you..."

Okay, that probably won't happen. But I'm trying to remember what I was like as a freshman. Now THAT was frightening.

That's all for now. Have a great weekend, kids. Toodleoo!

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23