fish!
fish!
2004-04-22
1:38 a.m.
Pancreas! I mean kidney.

It is my duty to inform you, dear faithful readers, that I came out of my second surgery yesterday (Tuesday - I don't know what day it is anymore) just fine. Thanks to these awesome narcotics, I have the lamest sleeping schedule ever, and am currently awake when I have work tomorrow morning bright and early at 8.

It's almost over. On Monday, they'er taking the little tube out of my ureter and then I'll be finished, I suppose.

In the meantime, I'm losing my mind. When I came out from under anasthesia, I looked over at the nurses and said, "I love you guys."

One of them smiled at me and said she was going to get my mom. And I said, "I love my mom. She's my best friend." And then I passed right out again.

I am covered with holes and bruises. Whenever someone tries to take blood from me, my veins roll around and hide. No less than three times, they thought they'd have a wein, and start pumping me with fluids, and the thing would blow, so my wrists are all swollen and gross. I kind of feel like a piece of swiss cheese.

But, I feel pretty good. They busted up the stone into tiny bits so I can pass them. The funny thing about all of this is that twice a day, I have to lie with my right hip elevated above my head and have someone beat my back for 5-10 minutes. The boys are greatly excited about that, as you can imagine.

So, don't fret my children. Soon this drama will all be over, and I can resume my old habits of writing about trite, mundane things.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23