fish!
fish!
2004-05-28
1:49 a.m.
Music survey

Hi,

So, a man with his name embroidered on his shirt DID convince me otherwise. The friendly folks at Saturn informed me that my battery, not my alternator, was spazzing out. This is good news. It means Alyssa can save about $150. Woot, woot.

I have recently discovered the best website ever. The most beautiful and deep man on the planet has his own weblog. This makes me so happy.

I have stolen this little survey from my buddy Indigo-love. I thinks it's clever, and I have fuck all else to do at this hour.

1. A song whose lyrics you thought you knew in the past, but about which you later learned you were incorrect.

"Everything Zen" by Bush. I swore up and down that the lyrics "try to see it once my way" were actually "I trust you to wash my legs." No lie.

2. Your least favorite song on one of your favorite albums of all time.

On "Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness," from the aforementioned musical genuis/voluntarily bald love of my life, I never quite cared for "bodies" on disc 2.

3. A song you like by someone you find physically unattractive or otherwise repellent.

I loathe Britney Spears with every fiber of my being, but "Anticipating" for some reason, is one of my favorite songs ever. I'm so ashamed.

4. Your favorite song with the name of a city in the title or text.

"Africa" by Toto. You can't beat it.

5. A song you've listened to repeatedly when you were depressed at some point in your life.

When I want to be pissed, I listen to "You Oughtta Know" by Alanis Morisette. Because I will-and have-gone down in a theater. When I want to brighten up, I opt for "Shake me," by Mint Royale. It's on the first QAF soundtrack and I can't listen to it without dancing.

6. Ever buy an entire album just for one song and wind up disliking everything but that song? Gimme that song.

Abso-fucking-lutely. I bought Taproot because I was really into "Poem" and didn't really care for the rest of the album for several months after. I finally got into it. I also bought Zwan's Mary Star of the Sea because of the song "Honestly," and I'm not a big fan of any of the rest of it.

7. Your favorite song that has expletives in it that's not by Liz Phair.

"She fucking hates me" by Puddle of Mudd. And "Laid" by James, which is kinda diry, but not really full of cursing. But I think it counts. And what exactly does Liz Phair have to do with anything? What, she's the only one who curses?

8. A song that sounds as if it's by someone British but isn't.

I hate to be cliche, but "Longview" by Green Day. It took quite a while before I was convinced that they weren't from across the pond.

9. A song you like (possibly from your past) that took you forever to finally locate a copy of.

Again, "Laid" by James. I never knew what it was called or who it was by until I discovered the internet many years later. God bless technology.

10. A song that reminds you of spring but doesn't mention spring at all.

"3x5" by John Mayer. It's linked to so many memories of road trips to visit the 'rents, see concerts, and go outlet shopping in gorgeous weather with my homo lifemate.

11. A song that sounds to you like being happy feels.

"Feel" by Robbie Williams.

12. Your favorite song from a non-soundtrack compilation album.

I bought one of those damn Now That's What I Call Music albums several years ago, and it had "Blue" by Eiffel 65. I love that song. I later bought their whole cd. And I love it.

13. A song from your past that would be considered politically incorrect now (and possibly was then).

"Walk on the wild side" by Lou Reed. Technically it isn't from my generation or anything, but I still remember listening to it all the time on the oldies station.

14. A song sung by an overweight person.

"It's Raining Men" by the Weather Girls. And I don't care about their size...they were fucking talented. Too bad C&C Music Factory and Marky Mark disagreed.

15.A song you actually like by an artist you otherwise hate.

Um, I think I answered that several questions ago. But I'll also go with "Come on over" by Christina Aguilera. She needs to take a shower.

16. A song by a band (whose members actually play instruments) that features three or more female members.

I'm going to be a big drag and go with The Donnas' "Take it off." Because I can't think of anything else right now.

17. One of the earliest songs that you can remember listening to.

"Mister Bojangles" by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band. Hence the name of my feline.

18. A song you've been mocked by friends for liking.

I garner much sass for knowing all of the words to "Mmm Bop." Shut up. You know you like it.

19. A really good cover version you think no one else has heard.

Gavin Degraw doing "Let's Get it On." Yowza.

20. A song that has helped cheer you up (or empowered you somehow) after a breakup or otherwise difficult situation.

"Disarm" by the Smashing Pumpkins. I heard it very shortly after I was date-raped, and for some reason, it helped me to cope, since I didn't think I could talk to anyone about it. I always try to find a song to reflect what I'm going through, and that one fit perfectly.

21. What was the last song you downloaded?

I think it was "You and I both" by Jason Mraz. I enjoy on that song immensely.

That's all for the survey. Wasn't it fun? Now I must depart for bed, as I have a client tomorrow. I'm a bit petrified. I just hope I don't mess this person up worse. Helping will come later.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23