fish!
fish!
2004-08-18
12:25 a.m.
Goal mastery!

First of all, if you do not think this is funny, I don't like you anymore.

Second. Casey's going to smack me for this. Remember how, like 90 years ago, I wrote that one of my New Year's resolutions was to have an orgasm while someone else was actually THERE?

Yeah, totally happened. Goal for New Year's 1986? Check.

I honestly think that was a resolution I set for myself three years ago.

Anyway. I've spent the majority of this week doing TA training for my new position as a psychology instructor. Does anyone else think it's hilarious that I have this kind of power?

Mostly, I have found this time to be an utter waste, during which I could be sleeping in. The training is pretty specifically designed to orient students who are brand new to grad school, the city, or in most cases, the country, to the process of graduate studies and the added responsibility of teaching several courses.

People, this is my seventh year living in Central Kentucky. It's my sixth year living in Lexington and attending to UK. There's nothing really new that you could show me right now. Although, I did learn that if a pet dies, that is NOT approved by the university as a valid reason to miss class. Fie on you, I say.

So among these timewasters is something lovingly titled "Microteach." It should be titled, "This will give you an ulcer." Basically, you're placed in a group with several other TAs from many other departments, and you are asked to prepare a brief lecture. You're taped, and you have to meet with a member of graduate faculty to be critiqued. As luck would have it, the person critiquing me was my stats professor, although she's really great.

So, I got to listen to some really fascinating (um, no) lectures from people on French, Chemistry, Freshman English, and Coal Mining.

For some reason, during my lecture, I took a random tangent on buying laundry detergent. The focus of my lecture was supposed to be "Finding Psychology outside of Mental Health." I was talking about marketing, I think. My professor told me that I had a really great use of humor.

I wasn't trying to be funny. Sometimes, when I start talking about TIDE, I bust a nut, and just can't stop.

You know how it is. I know someone else out there has a detergent fetish.

My car is disintegrating. For the third time this summer, I have to take it in to get fixed. I couldn't drive more than 25 miles per hour tonight, much to the delight of the large SUVs behind me.

My dad's fiance sent Matt and me a lovely housewarming gift today - a gift certificate for Target. Hrm...perhaps a downpayment on a new entertainment center. For as lovely as our apartment is, I think the whole tv setup is a little...industrial, I'd say.

She also informed me in a letter that I would be expected to sing at the wedding with the accompaniment of my aunt, who literally despises me. That should be quite interesting. Let's hope she can keep my song in a decent key.

That's all I have to report at the moment.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23