fish!
fish!
2004-09-18
12:59 p.m.
Potluck!

I had forgotten to share my most exciting news of the week in my last update.

I was desperately craving a change in my decor, even if it's just a minor change. I headed over to our local Bed, Bath, and Beyond, intending to just catch a peek at some different looks. But I went kind of overboard and made a big purchase.

I bought a totally new bedspread/dust ruffle combination, all in satin. I bought satin sheets. I bought satin-y pillows. I think it's totally fabulous and sexy.

Casey thinks it looks like Star Trek in here. Matt thinks it looks like Liberace took a giant dump on top of my bed. Nuts to them.

I also bought satin pajamas. It's like I'm playing an indoor version of slip 'n' slide whenever I move around. I literally almost sailed out of bed the other day, reaching to retrieve the remote control that had fallen out of bed with me.

Macauley Culkin has been arrested because he had some marijuana and benzodiazapenes on him. Big fucking deal. God forbid someone should want to smoke some pot to chill out once in a while.

I don't care what people say. Marijuana should be legalized. It wouldn't be such a big deal if we were allowed to do it. It's like drinking. Countries like France and Spain have a much lower percentage of people who become alcoholics because it's not as taboo there. Kids as young as 14 can drink wherever they go. But of course, people don't believe that when you tell them. Whenever I mention that I think pot should be legalized, I get a lecture based on those stupid anti-drug commercials about how it messes up your judgement.

The only, and I mean ONLY drug ever PROVEN to cause significant brain damage? Alcohol. Look it up. What's someone who's stoned gonna do that's so dangerous? Drive 10 mph below the speed limit? Play video games all day? Boy, let's lock up that menace to society right now.

It really, really, REALLY irritates me that we allow some drugs to be legal (ie nicotine, alcohol) that are more dangerous than other drugs simply because of some wealthy big shot's ignorant opinions and political agenda. And I'm not saying that cigarettes and booze should BE illegal. I just think it's painfully hypocritical of our government to spend millions of dollars trying to keep people from smoking pot once in a while when babies are born every day with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, and people die at an alarming rate from cirrhosis of the liver or lung cancer. And the money we waste prosecuting some poor 20-year old from a low-income area who was selling a little marijuana so that he could pay his bills could be spent in far more beneficial ways, like providing better resources for kids in public schools, paying our teachers more, working to raise minimum wage...so that people aren't left to consider this lifestyle as an option.

I totally didn't intend to write a political diatribe when I opened this page. Alas, here it is.

In other news, Gavin DeGraw is going to be making a guest appearance on the Showtime series Dead Like Me. So even though I've never cared a lick about that show in the past, I will now become an avid watcher. Because Gavin? He's de-lovely.

Also, Green Day is releasing a new albun in 3 days.

Matt and I are going to watch A Home at the End of the World this evening. I'm very excited, as Colin Farrell will be gracing our presence as a bisexual darling. Also, it stars the kid who plays Hunter on Queer as Folk. That's exciting.

And now I retreat to my corner of the room where I shall continue grading. Because that's all I do anymore. Damn kids.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23