fish!
fish!
2004-10-06
4:38 p.m.
Only for the thick-skinned.

This has been the worst week, not only of the semester, but of my grad school career thus far. And not only because of school and work responsibilities, but other shit as well.

So, I have 5 papers/presentations this week. Right. I have a presentation due tomorrow that's barely begun, although I'm totally going to use info from one book and pretend like I used the requisite 10 sources. And the prof can bite me.

I've slept like 5 hours all week.

Partly because I can't sleep and partly because I'm working my ass off to get grades in. Literally, I was up until 5:30 Tuesday morning working on submitting exam grades to professors because each of them has an equally nonsensical way of entering them. Rock.

My cell phone broke out of nowhere on Monday. Seriously, out of nowhere. Like, I pulled it out of my pocket, and (it's a flip phone) the top part of it is barely hanging on by one hinge. That whole process was a nightmare, considering that I had to drive all over east buttfuck trying to get it replaced, and wound up having to just have someone at 1-800-BestBuy replace it for me. I could've done the whole thing without pants.

During weeks like this, I'm a total bitch. No, I don't care about your new car. I don't car that you're getting a cold. I don't care about anyone new that you meet. I definitely don't care about some dumb student who has a stomachache and can't come to lab.

I'd apologize for being so bitchy, but I'm still too bitchy to do that. So, you can all bite me.

Oh. I had to give this case presentation in my practicum class last night. This is a class with a professor that is a total jackass and hasn't counseled a person since about 1942 or something.

I met with him Monday to talk about my client one-on-one. She and I are in the middle of trauma counseling. He suggested that we totally scrap it and do some career counseling instead. Not kidding.

It gets better.

So, yesterday, I'm in the middle of talking about this case with my class, and this professor starts talking about why she and her husband don't have a sexual relationship. Um, it's cause she was raped, you peon.

No, his suggestion, (WHICH WAS VALIDATED BY TWO GIRLS IN THE CLASS) was that I talk to her about wearing more makeup and making herself more "sexually attractive" to her husband.

Because apparently her choice not to have sex with him that often isn't really her choice. I guess it's his?

For the record, the two girls who agreed with him? Both married by age 23. One of them aspires to be a housewife. Total Republicans. Surprise, surprise.

In the middle of fucking trauma counseling, I'm supposed to start doing career counseling on this poor girl, AND tart her up like she's my personal hooker and the clinic is doing nothing but training me to be a pimp.

The culmination of my shitty/stressed/leave me the fuck alone mood came today (I think...I can't imagine it getting much worse) with the following: I was walking to my car in one of the parking garages on campus. Okay...have yu guys seen the bumper stickers that just have the letter "W" on them and say "the president" under them in tiny print?
For the record, you'd think he could command a little more respect than 10-point Times New Roman font on a square black sticker. But I digress.
A rather oversized SUV had a sticker kind of like that on it (oh, surprise again!), but it read "W is for Woman."

Um, yes. W is for White Woman Whipped by Wicked W.

You know what I did? I had a 20 oz. bottle of Mountain Dew that I had just opened. I poured it all over the car.

I know. I'd probably hate me, too, if I weren't so fed up with the world.

And one final nail in the coffin. A radio station that used to play nothing but classic rock is now playing nothing but Jesus rock.

I want to die.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23