fish!
fish!
2004-10-10
1:13 a.m.
Happy me

I've got to stop watching The Disney Channel. This morning, I found myself thinking, "Jesse McCartney and Aaron Carter are the exact same person. They're genetically identical. Why aren't they ever in the same room together...maybe one is the alter-ago of the other! Like the whole Garth Brooks/Chris Gains thing."

And then I realized that no woman of 24 should know either of the names Aaron Carter or Jesse McCarney, unless she has a pre-adolescent daughter herself.

So anyway, I completed the tasks that were due last week, and managed to apologize to everyone for my behavior. As I told Casey, I literally don't remember Tuesday. I know that it was a day on the calendar, but beyond that, I have no idea what I did or where I was all day. Now that's scary.

Today, I finally got to cash in my gift certificate from my parents for the Princess package at Posh Salon. This means that between the hours of 10 and 4 today, I had a massage, a facial, a manicure, pedicure, had my hair fixed, and my makeup done. And I got lunch. It was groovy.

My feet have never been prettier, although I was highly self-counscious about how sensistive my feet can be, and I was afraid I might accidentally kick the pedicurist because of being surprised by a ticklish area.

So, the best part, by far, was the massage. Are you kidding me? I've NEVER had this before, but I've got to find a way to budget this shit in at LEAST once a month. An hour and a half.

I liked the facial, although the skin on my face is really sensitive, so it stung a little bit. By the time I got out of that, I was sooooo chilled that all I could think of was coming home and taking a nap.

Lunch was a ham quiche, fruit salad with this grand dip, and sweet tea. I got to pick it out. Hooray.

My feet were done by this really charming woman who had lots of animals, and we were sharing stories of our insane cats. I could not believe that I got my feet massaged by these water jets in a tub before the whole thing started...then she massaged my whole leg with a sea salt scrub followed by lotion, followed by rubbing my feet, and getting them all dandied up.

The woman who did my nails was from Indonesia and we talked about psychology because she had wanted to study it before coming to the states. She was a totally fascinating woman.

And then the girl who did the hair and makeup was totally charming and sweet. Plus, I got some free makeup which is always welcome.

Finally, there's this lady who takes you around to all the different activities, runs and gets you a drink whenever you want, serves you lunch, and just makes sure you're totally happy the whole time. She was so sweet, honestly.

There were, I think, four other women who were also enjoying the Princess Package, and then some others who had come in for massages or pedicures, etc. The place was hopping, but I still felt really important. It's hard to explain. But I smell really, really good.

*Not in the way my Aussie sweetheart is generally using it. I never notice a "good" day over a "bad" one in that respect. Maybe I should pay more attention. I digress.*

The only caveat to my day of beauty was that somewhere around noon or so, I started to get a bit of a headache. I'm not quite sure why that is, but by the time the day was over, I really did need to rest, because I was feeling kind of nauseated and ill. I don't think it had much to do with my actual activities, except that the fumes of the polishes probably didn't help. Oh well. It was still great.

My new reason for freaking out is this: For my Group Therapy class, my friend Russell and I are supposed to run a group, and we decided to run a group from Lexington LGBT's. Unfortunately, we got a late start on everything because our professor didn't really plan the whole thing out well. We found out that, because we didn't really announce it until later, we've lost the opportunity of using several of the other grad students. Many of my classmates are in this same situation, and I don't know what to do. I guess I'll take this opportunity to plea:

Okay, kids, if you love me, and fall into the category for our group, and have nothing to do on Sunday afternoons for the next 5 weeks, PLEASE help me out. Russell and I are thinking of bribing people with coupons or gift certificates. We're seriously desperate here.

I figured we'd just turn it into this whole meet and greet and supportive talking environment for people we know. I don't know. Help, please! PLEASE!

Something that J in Ohio mentioned the other day has stuck with me. I've heard before that I was pretty gifted in the whole oral sex reign. J mentioned that someone she was talking to said that she was also quite skilled and liked the fact that she didn't use TOO much hand. So, I've been obsessing lately over what constitutes too much hand in addition to the mouth. That's just an aside.

I think at some point tomorrow I'm supposed to study for my psychopathology midterm. In grad school, you don't take a lot of tests, unless it's in a stats class. So, I've become rather adept at writing papers, but I haven't taken an actual test in almost 2 years. And I haven't taken a test that mattered in even longer (Hi, I took freaking freshman-level GEOLOGY courses while a senior. Pass/Fail, too. Not even for a grade).

I got my new phone in the mail Thursday night. I'm glad to have something that's not broken, but I liked my other one better. Ah, well.

Perhaps I shall take a picture of my lovely feet. And I did.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23