fish!
fish!
2004-10-16
2:29 a.m.
Farking hotness

I don't know what's wrong with me lately. I think it's the fact that I haven't been able to have a break from schoolwork in over a year, but I'm totally flustered of late.
All last week, I was completely insane. All this week, I've thought it was next week. Like, I totally skipped over this week. And today, I completely missed something I was supposed to do, to help out with someone's dissertation research. I feel like a total space cadet.
I cracked myself up the other day. I was driving along in my car, and I passed a rather old, beaten up, Ford Probe. The driver was of the mulleted specimen, quite lovely indeed. And on the back of this fantastic vehicle, was a bumper sticker that read "Sportsmen for Bush."
And I thought, The only reason this guy is voting for Dubya is because that's the ONLY 'bush' he has any hope of getting in the course of his lifetime.
I'm not shitting you people, I literally had to pull the car over because I was laughing so hard. I'm easily amused like that.
Am I the only person who thinks it's kind of retarded that the heat is on in my apartment right now? I know it's gotten a LITTLE chillier, but honestly, it's been in the 50s during the days. Not exactly an Arctic chill. I am just not too keen on paying the electric bill to have the heat on so early.
I'm probably a little jaded anyway, considering that last year, it was January before I had heat in my apartment. It really wasn't much of a problem for me until it started snowing, though.
And to be honest, I haven't been the slightest bit chilly yet. Sometimes I wrap up in a blanket, but that's because I have to snuggle up to something when I sleep, and I'm no longer sleeping in bed with Casey, so a giant blanket will have to do.
When I lived with Gina, we had these air wars, where, whenever one of us was out, the one who was home would fuck with the a/c. She wanted it warmer, and I wanted it cooler. I'd rather avoid this kind of battle, so I've just shut the vents in the bathroom and in my bedroom. Plus, I need to be chilly when I sleep. Is anyone else like that? I'd rather have a fan on in the dead of winter than hot air blowing on me. I just can't sleep unless I'm cold and all wrapped up.
That's why I've been popping the xanax lately. It puts me to sleep regardless of the temperature.
What else...I'm not sure how I feel about the new Green Day cd. I kind of like the slightly innovative approach to their music. However, a part of me feels like they just now learned how to count in 3/4 or 5/4 time, and were really anxious to show the world. There are a couple of tracks on there that I really like, but I also kind of think that Billie Joe Armstrong wrote his songs thinking "How many times can I fit the phrase 'Jesus of suburbia' into this album?" Because it shows up, like 12 times. It's even the title of a 9-minute, 4-part song. Weird.
Speaking of people who write/say some odd things, did anyone else catch the final debate? Um, what is Dubya's fascination with Ted Kennedy? Did anyone else notice that he mentioned Teddy about 5 times during the debate? What, is this like the penis game for politicians?
Also, the man does not know how to answer a question directly. I love the answer he gave to "Do you think homosexuality is a choice?" Not once did he actually ANSWER what he thought about it, but he did take the opportunity to refer once again to "activist judges" and preserving the American Family.
As far as I'm concerned, a judge who wants to amend the consitution to write discrimination into it is the one who's being "activist," not the one who wants to preserve the ideals of freedom from our founding fathers.
And there is no such thing as a traditional American family. When mom + dad + kids are present, and there are no divorces and everything is nuclear and uncomplicated, THAT is the minority. So, whatever. You're an idiot, George. Go back to Texas and drink yourselffurther into retardation and leave someone else to clean up the mess you've created. You're pretty good at that anyway.
So now I'm off to bed. Blech. It's too hot in here and it smells like heat. You guys know what I'm talking about.
Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23