fish!
fish!
2004-11-22
3:16 p.m.
Go die, people for U2.

I wonder if I should start a countdown to the day my ex becomes my brother? It's in five days, people. Five.

I still never thought this would happen. I mean, my dad is a complete wacko. This woman has to be either awfully patient, awfully blind, or awfully crazy herself. We'll see which one it is.

I'm going to piss off a lot of people, but I fucking HATE U2. Since when does the number 14 follow 3 anyway? I'm so over them. I never thought they were that great to begin with, but I definitely don't see anything particularly special about them now. Lots of people have gone political. Find a new schtick.

Because I spend so much time on the road now, driving back and forth across town going to school or to Casey's, I've become obsessed with bumper stickers and other decals on cars. First of all, I've said it before and I'll say it again. I think bumper stickers are the ultimate form of passive-aggressiveness. Nevermind the fact that I have 4 of them (2 for John Mayer, 1 Human Rights Campaign, and 1 rainbow sticker). And I don't necessarily see anything wrong with passive-aggressiveness most of the time. But think about it - you're making some sort of a statement about yourself as you're driving away, so no one can react to your face. Interesting, non?

Anysnooch, I was in the parking garage today, and I saw a car with the following two stickers on it:
"We vote pro-life"
and
"I heart hooters"

Is that not the most bizarre thing ever?

If not, how's this? I was driving to Casey's last night and got stuck behind a Hyundai (I'm sure that's not spelled correctly, but I don't really care). On the back of the car, where you usually see the logo of the dealership it was bought from or something, it said The Sopranos Edition. Fucking Sopranos? On THAT car? That makes no sense.

If I had seen, like a The L Word edition of a Subaru, that would make sense. But a Sopranos edition Hyundai? That makes as much sense as a Curb Your Enthusiasm Altima or a Sex and the City Tercel.

This may be the earliest I've ever had plans for New Year's Eve. My friend Olivia is hosting her annual Adult Prom event on the big day this year. I found out last night that it's at this hotel downtown called the Gratz Inn, I think. I dunno - sounds kind of expensive. I'm going to check and see what the room rates are. But I'm erally excited at the prospect of getting all glammed up again. I really think she should hire a photographer. That would be awesome.

And now, a word from Billie Joe:

Zieg Heil to the resident gasman
Bombs away is your punishment.
Pulvarize the Eiffel Towers
who criticize your government.
Bang, bang goes the broken glass, and
kill all the fags that don't agree.
Trial by fire set in fire
is not a life that's meant for me.

- Editor's note: I realize that the word "fag" appears in this song, but it doesn't mean what you might think. In my interpretation, the band is remarking about the fact that whenever we disagree with Dubya these days, people on the radical right automatically assume that we're unpolitical and gay.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23