fish!
fish!
2004-12-02
7:48 p.m.
I still hate U2. Even though this entry doesn't have anything to do with that.

My consolation in life regarding the past week is the fact that I now have Valium. Because I need it.

Dad's wedding...well, first, I'd like to say that while my song went off, essentially, without a hitch (except for the fact that I have some difficulty hitting a low E flat), I did cry like a big weenie when my dad said his vows. I suck. Hard.

For the reception, we had a Mountain Dew fountain. What is that, you ask? Well, my friends, it's much like a champagne fountain, but with flat Moutain Dew instead of bubbly Cristal. Because everyone I know drinks Cristal and all.

As the entree, Dad and my stepmom (henceforth known as T-dogg) served soup.

Ahem, soup.

Soup, people.

Apparently it warms the soul?

My crazy (literally. crazy.) uncles decided to cover Dad and T-dogg's brand new car with mustard. Remember kids, that mustard has vinegar in it. Which can eat away at a paint job.

My family sucks big BOWLS of elephant ass.

I've felt really weird since the whole wedding thing happened. Not only because of the new brother/sister thing, but because I saw these glimmers of a man I used to know as my dad. I know that when I was very young, he was a fun person, a happy person, and someone I felt safe with. After he and my mom split, he began hating women, hating mom, hating me, hating everything. And now, I almost don't know what's real anymore. I can't help but wonder how long it will last. And what if it ends? Will I again be forced to reap the consequences of being the only child of a borderline papa? Time will tell.

Sunday I started feeling really ill. I couldn't get warm, and I was achy and shitty all over. Well, I was supposed to present on my experience as a group leader in my group class, which lasts from 9 until 11:30. I woke up at roughly 10:30. How I missed my alarm is beyond me. I have apologized profusely to my partner, who refuses to speak to me (STILL!), and my professor, who has to talk it over with other people in the department to see what I can do from here. I will be angry if I have to take the whole class over again because of one mistake, but I'm willing to do so.

So, school? Not going so well. And my job? Probably worse. I was supposed to sit in on one of my profs' classes yesterday. As luck would have it, my group class ran extra long and before I knew what happened, I had missed the other class. Prof was livid. Of course, this has happened before with other TAs...not a big deal. I do it, and because God hates me, this was the day he was doing course evaluations, and he's miffed that a grad student wasn't there to help with that. Ugh. Can't win.

To top matters off, a couple of months ago, one of my students withdrew from class. We had a dialogue going about it, because I knew him outside of class. For whatever reason, his paperwork got messed up, and he had to file some special paper. At the time, I was also being bombarded with things I had to sign off on for other students, for sports and sororities and such. So, I got a little caught up in the shuffle and signed off on the withdrawal, not realizing that it was supposed to go to the prof of the class, and not me.

Here's what I don't understand:

1. Didn't the student know that the prof had to sign it, and not the TA?

2. If the goddamn psych department has all of these bullshit red tape things and hoops to jump through and chains of command, why is none of this explained at the beginning of the semester? It's like everyone knows shit that I don't know, and I was THERE for every moment of TA training, whereas their cocky asses were not.

This whole thing has turned into an international incident. I'm so embarassed, I'm half tempted to tell the PSYCH people to take their TA position and shove it up their collective anal retentive shitholes.

I have absolutely no conception of my level of authority.

And finally, because hotmail is just such a great email account, I didn't get some important email about class evaluations, which means that my students didn't evaluate me. I haven't even TOLD anyone about this yet, because I'm still reeling from all of the other stuff.

What the hell am I going to do? Is it vacation yet?

I have decided that, since this whole semester has been one ongoing faucet turned on with botulism leaking out of it, I will treat myself to something dandy. Therefore, I am going to splurge and pay for a hotel room in the swanky hotel where adult prom is being held. I love pretending that I have expendable income. But seriously, folks, every bed has a termpurpedic mattress on it. And now I can find out firsthand if kertanging on such a matress is a hinderance to the booty process. I'm tired of getting secondhand info from my mom.

And now, because I need some levity:

Haha...you said nuclear. It's nucular, dummy. The "S" is silent. - Family Guy. Ah, Peter, you always make me laugh.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23