fish!
fish!
2004-12-29
5:43 a.m.
Waxed and ready to go.

I totally stole this from my dear friend Shelley, although I'm sure everyone and their friend has done it too.

Before I begin, I'd like to share two things that happened today. First: I got a brazilian bikini wax. Yowza. I need some damn hydrocortisone. Second: I stepped in dog shit and tracked it all the way through the apartment at this lovely hour of almost 6 in the morning.

With that said, let us commence with the usual generics, shall we?

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?
Um, Xanax? Does that count? Oh, and Percocet. I'd never done that before.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I can't remember all of them, but I know one was to at least have an orgasm while someone was present, and THAT, my friends, actually happened. Huzzah. As far as resolutions go, I resolve to get my shit together and stop it with these stupid panic attacks already.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My childhood friend, Susan. And my other friend Alyssa. That girl is fertile. I'm afraid to stand too close to her.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
I don't recall, no.

5. What countries did you visit?
That's a big fat goose egg this year, although I've frequently thought of running away to canada.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?
An actual relationship, I think. And some semblance of emotional stability. I suppose the former generally follows the latter. Damn.

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
June 1, which was the day my apartment caught fire.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I think after the year I've had, my biggest achievement is that I've not yet entered a mental institution.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Self-care.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Yup. Flu, massive kidney stone that blocked my left kidney, broken toe, and sprained lower back.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
I'm so bad - I'd probably say either my bed linens or my tv.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
The members of Green Day, because American Idiot is brilliant as a story, as a collection of songs, and as political satire. Also, Jon Stewart.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
um...listed? Dubya. Condi Rice (sorry, babe, you're smart and I hate to dis you as a female, but fuck you up the ass. Hard). Anyone who voted for Dubya. Any fucking dipshit who voted for Jim Bunning (the man ADMITTED he doesn't read the paper or watch the news and didn't show up for a debate and STILL won? What is wrong here?). But particularly, anyone who voted for the marriage amendment. May you be sodomized by a giant octopus.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Probably, that which did not go to bills and such went to clothes.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Moving in with Matt, I think.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?
I think a few:
American Idiot - Green Day
Daughters - John Mayer
Dreams, and also Belief - both by Gavin DeGraw

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? I don't know...about the same. More upset with my psychological health, but I think that's normal.
ii. thinner or fatter? The same. Always the same.
iii. richer or poorer? Probably a tiny bit richer. But not much.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Taking care of myself

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Procrastinating. And oversleeping.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
I spent it doing lots of great things, most of which you will probably hear about later when I feel like typing them out.

22. Did you fall in love in 2004?
Nah, never do.

23. How many one-night stands?
Oh, God, walk of shame. Just one.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Anything I love the....on VH-1, Carnivale, The Sopranos, QAF, The L Word...did I miss any? Oh, and Shorties watchin Shorties. Love it.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Don't hate, but am disappointed with the faculty in my department. And over at Clinical Psychology.

26. What was the best book you read?
I don't do any leisure reading anymore, I don't think. Trading Up was pretty good, by Candace Bushnell...but for school, The Sexual Healing Journey, by Wendy Maltz.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Okay, has NO ONE been reading this? Gavin Fucking DeGraw already.

28. What did you want and get?
An apartment with its own washer and drier.

29. What did you want and not get?
Happier. I really wanted that.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Garden State. But believe it or not, Phantom of the Opera was pretty cool.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 24. My parents took me to Damon's with Casey. While I was still homeless. But I did wear a tiara to school.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Less stuff going wrong, I guess.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004? I'm slowly morphing into a somewhat more business-y look, but I still have to wear the swishy pants once in a while.

34. What kept you sane?
My family, Tiffany, Casey, and Matt.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Oh my God, Johnny Depp, people. But also Zach Braff a little. Because, well, come on.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Gay marriage, without a doubt. Sanctity my ass, Ms. Spears-Alexander-Federline.

37. Who did you miss?
My mom. I always miss my mom.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I don't know that I met anyone new this year, did I? Eh, next question, please.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004.
You'll be surprised what you can live through, but you'll also have to listen to yourself. Your body knows things your mind doesn't.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Again, a few:

"Tonight, you arrested my mind when you came to my defense with a knife in the shape of your mouth, in the form of your body, with the wrath of a God...you stood by me, belief." - Belief by Gavin DeGraw

"Trial by fire set in fire is not a life that's meant for me." - Holiday by Green Day.

"Fathers be good to your daughters and daughters will love like you do. Girls become lovers who turn into mothers, so mothers be good to your daughters, too" - Daughters by John Mayer

I think that's all of that. Now to soak my poor cho-cha.

Fin.


My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23