fish!
fish!
2005-01-29
5:29 a.m.
If they mated...

I have been absolutely surrounded by people I'm convinced should never procreate. Ever. I mean, I usually feel this way on a regular basis, but the end of January has really brought out the village idiots.

Case 1: Did I mention the grief I'm getting from a former student? Long story short, he's pissed because he was a few points away from a C in the course. He needed a C average to get into his fraternity. So, he's trying to argue to get any points he can think of. He tried to say that I graded a quiz wrong and added wrong, which I (and the lecture prof) confirmed was incorrect. I grade things at least twice, to be sure that I'm NOT making mistakes. Then, he went back to a quiz that they took in the beginning of the semester and tried to write over his incorrect answer with the correct one. I told him it clearly looked like he had done this, and he said, "Uh, yeah, I guess I changed it before I turned it in." I said that since I had no way of knowing this - and if it WERE the case, he should've brought it to my attention 4 months ago (!) - I couldn't give him the points. It's not fair. He said he would sit and beg, so I just left him sitting there.
I found out today from the professor that he missed the final, because he swears that the prof changed the date of the final. He thought it was during class time, even though HIS final was on the last day of finals week. Apparently, this idiot kid got his dad involved and his dad called and was screaming that the prof had done this (even though the exam date was on the syllabus from day one, and clearly he made it to his OTHER finals). She let him make it up - now we're both wishing she hadn't, because he deserves an F after all this shit. Also, he told his dad all of these terrible, untrue things about the professor - I'm sure he told Dad some things about me, too. Also, this brat kid got my phone number somehow, and was calling and bugging me. So far, Dad hasn't called me. If he did, I couldn't talk to him anyway - it's against the law. Keep our fingers crossed.

*I know that was a long one. Kudos to you if you kept up with it. The more I think about it, the harder it is to keep brief, because it makes me furious.*

Case 2: Tonight, Casey and I went to see Hide and Seek. Today is the first day it was out. There was a couple behind us who talked through the whole damn thing, even though he and I both asked them repeatedly to shut the fuck up. But what's hilarious is that every few minutes, the woman would turn to the man and ask, "What's happening? What's going on? Why did he do that?" What, did the guy come and see the film earlier that day? These people should have a mandated removal of their sex organs.

Case 3: This is my personal favorite. Tonight after the movie, Casey and I stopped at K-roger to get some snacks and drinks. Of course, when it's about midnight, there aren't a lot of lanes open in the checkout area. There were 4 out of 10 U-Scans open and one actual check-out girl. There was a guy who cut in line in front of a bunch of people because all he was buying was a bunch of apples. Two bags worth.
You all know thatwhen you're buying produce, all you have to do is put it on the scanner and get a weight, and then enter the label code. So fucking easy.
The guy puts his bag of apples on the scanner. The voice says, "Please enter the label code." He picks up one apple and punches in what's written on there. The voice says, "Please put the item in the bag."
Wait for it.
He put the apple back in his bag of apples.
He then picked up another apple and did the same thing. This literally went on for 3 or 4 minutes. I had to bury my face in Casey's coat to avoid going absolutely postal on him. But it was pretty damn funny. There were several people in the line who were laughing their asses off at this guy.

He has to be a leading cause of aneurism.

Anyway, that's my rant for the day. My parents are coming for a visit tomorrow. I don't know what's happened, but lately, my mother drives me nuts. I still love her, but she's either waaaay flightier than she used to be, or the Strattera has helped me so much that I can't manage to follow any of her conversations anymore.

Anyway, they're coming tomorrow at about 1. Here it is almost 6, and I'm up playing mahjong, because I am addicted to it. I still need to do my crossword puzzles before sleeping, too. Thank God for Nick-at-Nite.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23