fish!
fish!
2005-02-04
12:44 a.m.
Cloud nine.

I recently bought a mattress topper for my bed. I've always had neck and back pain, and it's gotten worse lately. Especially now that I'm having problems with my jaw. I can't open it very wide without it cracking and feeling really uncomfortable. Not only is it irritating, but it also puts a big damper on my sex life.

Anyway, it finally came in the mail, and I put it on my bed last night. It's actually MUCH more comfy than I was expecting. I wasn't as sore this morning as I usually am when I get up. Happy day.

Apparently there is a quality about me as a roommate that results in people getting involved in serious relationships and spending most of the week away from home. So, I guess if you're looking to get involved with someone, move in with me. At least with Shelly, my roomie from Royal Lex, I wasn't left with a distempered, obese cat (or if I was, I didn't know it). I wake up every damn morning to Jack and Mister Bojangles fighting on top of me, or under my bed, tearing at the underside of the mattress, or knocking shit over.

One of these days, I'm going to disappear for a week and leave those critters behind. Except that I probably couldn't ever do that. When I leave my cat for a night, I miss him like crazy.

I assigned a quiz to my students last week that was really simple. Since I know that most kids gets worried about having to take a quiz every week in lab, I start them off simply. The prompt was to write a letter to a family member describing the most interesting activity we did in lab, or something you learned in lab. I've taught this thing 10 times, and NEVER had a problem with it. Then, tonight, I'm grading papers for my kids in class tomorrow, and I came across TWO kids who wrote complete nonsense. One person decided to be cute and write something to his mother about waking up to a stranger sleeping on his couch because they'd both been really drunk and dropping acid the night before. What the hell? The other kid wrote something about how he went to all of his classes that day. Tough feat - the class was at 11 a.m. He'd been to his 9:00 class AND his 11:00 class. Well, someone deserves a cookie.

They will both fail.

I have started taking showers at night again. It helps me to sleep so much more soundly and calmly. Or maybe it's the medication.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23