fish!
fish!
2005-02-10
9:12 a.m.
Like a rhinestone couch potato.

Warning...this whole first section is gross and related to female stuff.

I think my body has gone on strike. I have been dealing with my period for over a month now, people. I tried to stop it by taking extra birth control, and that doesn't seem to be doing anything.

I finally gave in and started taking the blank pills again to let my body think I'm really going to let it bleed for a while. But, really, that made things worse. Now I have cramps that don't allow me to do things like, um, standing? And I'm all puke-y. Gross.

Is it me, or is tv becoming entirely too emotionally manipulative lately? The other night, I was flipping back and forth between an episode of Queer Eye and Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. Those Extreme Makeover people will stop at nothin to make sure you are bawling by the end of the episode. In the latest installment, they were working with a family who had just lost the father. So, of course, when the family came home, they had these pictures of Dad posted all over the house and his old boots warming by the fire. My God, people, that's just rude. For Queer Eye, it was one of those engagement episodes, which always gets to me. I was also watching I Am Sam at some point this weekend, but I had to keep changing the channel because every 5 minutes it was causing me to sob uncontrollably.

MTV needs to work on their transitioning. The other night I watched this documentary of four journalists who went to some of the areas that were the hardest hit by the tsunami. By the end of this, I was really touched, and of course, crying like a dork. I just got an idea of what was going on, for the first time. But anyway, the show ends, all seriously, and I'm busy wiping tears away, and they immediately go into "...Previously, on The Real World...."

You'd think there would be something that could bridge the two programs.

I apologize for all the tv talk. Since I can't do much but sit around with a heating pad, this is my life.

Casey is super sick, with some bizarre strain of the flu. Yesterday was his birthday. I hate being sick on my birthday - that's a special day, you know. I was sick once, and I felt cheated for the rest of the year. But I think I'm the only woman over 12 who even makes a big deal out of these things.

And he told me last night that he misses me. So, I cried at that, too, because I'm a weenie. I would blame it on the hormones, but we all know that's a big lie.

I really, really need a break from these cats. I feel like I'm trapped in a padded cell, my eyes chasing something running around in circles. I don't know what they're on, but I wish I had a secret stash of it.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23