fish!
fish!
2005-02-14
9:12 p.m.
Because my prescription for Strattera ran out...

The other day I overheard someone saying something about me that was a complete lie. It's not that it was a particularly mean statement, but it was totally false, and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it. I will never understand why some people think it's necessary to make up complete bullshit about other people, and for what? It didn't advance the conversation in anyway. In fact, I'd say that was probably the end of it.

I have excellent hearing. My students have been surprised at the fact that not only can I hear everything they say to each other, but I respond to it.

Anyway, I didn't address it at the time, though I wish I had, and now it seems too insignificant to bring up. One of these days I'll be able to let it go.

Why is Gwen Stefani suddenly being followed everywhere she goes by this entourage of tiny, adolescent Japanese girls? I'm confused. I don't think people should be accessories.

The people at Zingy have this advertising thing all wrong. They have the most low-budget commercials I've ever seen. They're more low budget than that cross-eyed, frog-looking lawyer Darryl Isaacs. But, they're on the air at least once during EVERY commercial break on MTV, VH1 and Comedy Central, which are, essentially, the only channels I watch (unless it's Sunday night or something). So, I think they should stop wasting their money on buying up so much air space and spend it on some decent commercials. Maybe put some people in your ads instead of those obnoxious pictures. I absolutely can't take it anymore.

And why the hell would I pay money for something that looks like a piece of shit? My cell phone comes with enough shitty accessories, and they were free. Jebus.

I think that "American Idol" should change its name to "American B-lister." Every person who has ever been on American Idol has not gone on to real fame. I pretty much always agree with Simon Cowell's comments, but I don't think he really knows what Americans want. Otherwise, we'd end up watching a show with these pseudo-coquettish/whorish adolescents with minimal vocal talent, but the ability to dance around half-naked. The people who are really famous entertainers seem to embody those characteristics. You know, Britney Spears, Madonna (sorry, but I think she has a poor singing voice), Ashlee and Jessica Simpson, etc...

And the males? We tend to fall for the whole singer-songwriter thing, with some boy-next-door charm. So, while Reuben Studdard has a great voice, he will certainly not be headlining any sold-out concerts in the future. Kelly Clarkson has been the most "successful" of the Idolers to date, and I really don't think she's done anything all that enticing. Plus, their songs always show up on those "Worst songs of the year" countdown.

I really don't care for Valentine's Day. Not for the reasons you think - you know...god, I hate happy couples and all that. I'm fine with that, as long as you learn to confine your kissing to behind closed doors.

But, no. The reason I hate it is because it's just another day to me. I think if you're in a relationship, every day should be that way. Not that someone should always bring you candy and chocolates and jewelry and such, but why do you need a special day to remind you that you care about someone? I think unexpected gifts are much more meaningful. And also, do people who are in a couple REALLY need another excuse to act superior to the "poor, single people?"

Anyway, in case you couldn't tell, Casey and I are not celebrating today. First of all, I don't want to be around every person in this city, as we go out to eat. Every restaurant would have a giant wait. No thanks. But also, Casey went to get my present and the store he wanted to shop at was closed for remodeling. So, we have to hold out until we have gifts for each other. This is totally fine with me, since we saw each other yesterday...well, it was fine. Then I talked to Casey earlier this evening and found myself kind of depressed that I wasn't seeing him.

Yes, I, too, fall victim to this senseless Hallmark holiday.

But it's okay. Because, since I'm not, I have plenty of time to grade papers and record grades and work on crossword puzzles. Good times.

And now, I bid you all adieu.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23