fish!
fish!
2005-02-17
3:06 a.m.
I borrowed my writing style

It's after three in the morning, and I can't sleep. I have a class at 8 a.m. tomorrow morning, and a really full day tomorrow, and I'm really restless. I haven't been sleeping well lately.

I've always felt that, when you adopt a person or an animal, you are making a pledge to that person/pet and their previous caretakers, that you will care for that individual. And that means more than cleaning up after them. It means more than feeding them. I know that cats are supposed to be semi-low-maintenance, but you still have to interact with them. Well, you do if you want them to be domesticated. If you'd rather have a feral feline, that's your prerogative, I suppose.

I've always been a little bit of a bleeding heart when it comes to animals. I hate animal movies, because I'm always afraid that one of the animals will get hurt or die. Any movie in which this does happen causes me to comit on the spot. And I hold adoption as sacred because of who I am and what my roots are. I guess not everyone feels that way.

Everything needs attention and affection. Did you know that if a baby monkey is deprived of affection, it will die?

I think Jack is so insane because he's starved for attention. I try to give it to him, but it's a long and arduous process to earn the trust and affection of an adult male cat, particularly one who's always had an attitude problem.

Part of the reason I can't sleep is the fact that I have been really angry, irritated, and depressed over something. I know I'm starting to sound like Kellie, who, while I love her, could not tell a straightforward story to save her life. It's all cryptic details and giggles.

I know as an adult that it's best to wait to air my grievances until after I've spoken to the person with whom I am frustrated. It's hard to have a heart-to-heart when you feel that yours is the only heart involved, and the only one around. Friendships take work; all relationships take work, and I have never been one to sit around and wait on anyone. I don't believe in relationships of convenience.

Can you really say that you found love when you weren't looking for it, if you purposefully sought after this very thing? Not much of a miracle, or the work of some benevolent force.

So, if this seems rude or bitchy, sorry, kids. I didn't sleep at all on Monday night. Tuesday night, I finally fell asleep at around 8 in the morning, and slept for a few hours. Tonight is not looking very promising. Plus, I've been sitting on this hostility for a while, and it has taken a really serious toll on my body. I'm always weak and tired, stressed, and feeling emotionally on edge. It would be nice to let go of all of that.

In other news, my family is trying to figure out where they're going to have the next family reunion. We have family members in Nebraska; Miami, FL.; Hawaii; and Osaka, Japan. I am seriously pushing for the reuinion to take place in Florida or Hawaii. I know, it's an expensive vacation spot, but that's why you stay with family. My step-cousin, who is a model, lives there, with her mother, who used to be married to my uncle (the relatively well-known deejay who has met every celebrity from James Brown to Paul McCartney to Britney Spears). The step-grandparents live in Florida. But I've never been to Miami. If I went, I would blast that stupid Will Smith song the whole way there, just for the full experience. Maybe I'll run into Enrique Iglesias. Or Elian Gonzalez.

This past year, it was held in Cincinnati. Convenient for my parents and my sisters, but not very exciting. Japan? Now THAT'S exciting.

Ciao, all. I'm off to another evening of fitful sleep.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23