fish!
fish!
2005-03-17
3:57 a.m.
I'm a travellin' lady.

Hi, all!

I have returned from my little mini-trip. It was really fantastic - I was born to have a whirlpool. I think something just went wrong somewhere. Casey and I had a fabulous time - we got along the whole time, and it was really romantic and I just had a lot of fun with him. Hooray for trips. I may post some pictures, although I only have a few of some interesting features of Mammoth Cave, and couple shots of birds at Kentucky Down Under.

I have to say, KDU was a bit of a letdown. I was really excited about it, thinking it would be like a zoo, filled with Australian animals. It was really more like an old farm. Plus, it was all gravel roads, chicken coops. AND, aside from a ginormous group of oversized sixth graders on a field trip (and their unwitting chaperones), Casey and I were the ONLY patrons. Literally.

So I didn't get to see anything like the kangaroos and wallabees up close like I had hoped, because the damn kids were everywhere and they were on these tours. So usually, where you would be able to just walk right up to an exhibit and a tour guide would take you on through, you had to arrive according to some stupid schedule and be surrounded by obnoxious, attention-hungry, pre-pubescent spoiled brats. Not that I dislike children, per se. I just don't like them at that age.

And...when on earth did they start growing kids so big? I swear, at least a third of them were as tall, if not taller than Casey, who is six feet even. I mean, I'm not surpised that they're taller than me, but seriously! Quit it with the Wheaties already!

The most amusing part of the day was when they brought out a miniature horse that we could all touch, and the horse had a massive boner. Really. Just flopping around like he could smack you with it. It was funny to try and listen to the people who worked there try to explain what it was. Ha.

I felt ridiculously out of shape while we were at Mammoth Cave. We took something called the Frozen Niagara Tour, which was something I hadn't done before. When you walk in, you immediately have to descend something like 550 stairs. You wouldn't think that going DOWN stairs would be difficult, but after a while, my legs were shaking. And then, of course, there was some uphill climbing as well. I wouldn't have felt so bad about it, if I weren't being lapped by 4-year olds. Needless to say, my hanstrings are a bit sore. The condition was exacerbated by the fact that Casey was a bit amorous on the trip - more so than usual. I'm kind of sexed-out for a while. At least until I can walk without pain again.

I found out today that I am not a bridesmaid in Gina's wedding. I'm not involved at all. As petty as this sounds, I'm really hurt and insulted by this. I realize that most women don't want to be a bridesmaid, but I just expected to be more involved in this special day of hers. I mean, we lived together for 3 years, and we were always really close. It just doesn't make sense to me. She apparently had to include several of her boyfriend's family members, and then she said something about asking people whose weddings she had been in. Well, if I had been married by now, she would've been in it. Unfortunately, I'm not trying to join my life to someone else's while I'm roughly $40,000 in debt. That's just cruel. I wish it didn't upset me like it does, but I'm really, really hurt by this. I thought we were better friends. I realize that because I'm still in Lexington while she moved back home after graduation, we haven't been as close as we used to be, but we still keep in touch, and I try to see her as often as possible. I don't know. I understand that it's her day and her choice, but I just figured I'd be a part of it somehow.

Anyway, that's about all I have to say this evening. I'm having some trouble typing, since it's a bit late, and I think it's high time I went to bed.

Buenas noches, all!

Fin

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23