fish!
fish!
2005-04-18
11:24 p.m.
Why weren't Child Servies called?

I love watching Dr. 90210. It's a show on E! (if you don't know) that follows the lives of these Beverly Hills plastic surgeons. What I enjoy most is getting to watch the actual surgeries. My boyfriend thinks it's weird. But I can't help it. Did any of you guys ever watch The Operation on TLC? Give me some chips and a coke, and THAT, my friends, was positively LOVELY Saturday night.

Perhaps this is why I haven't dated much.

The one aspect of the show I really don't like is that whenever they're showing the previews for the following week, they always try to cut it so you think "Maybe this will be the time someone almost dies in recovery." It's ridiculous. Every week that deep-voiced announcer says something along the lines of "This is Loretta. She wants a face lift. But do the risks really outweigh the benefits?"

Cut to an image of the nurses trying to wake dear Loretta up from anesthesia.

I think that if they really did have a problem so serious, it sure as hell wouldn't be aired - unless it was for a malpractice lawsuit.

Mom called tonight to ask me if I would go to a Mother's Day high tea with her, my Grandmother, my aunt and my cousin. Unfortunately, my ticket for Green Day (in the mosh pit, no less) is for that very weekend. But, I could really hear in my mother's voice that she wanted desperately for me to come. She even volunteered to pick me up.

I think I'm going to sell my ticket. It's for a Cleveland show, just in case anybody is wondering. I think the girls I was going with may be angry with me, but when Niki's mom passed away suddenly, I vowed to take these opportunities with her.

Tonight, for the first time, I watched Nanny 911. The reason? I know that someday I will probably be faced in counseling with families like those that need her help, but I was honestly expecting to see rude conduct-disorderly children. What I saw was appalling and upsetting.

The reason the kids were disrespectful? Because Dad was. There were 5 munchkins in all, Dad worked all week, and Mom took care of the children. The father would actually make statements like, "I will not help you with the kids, you fat slob. That's your only job. Do it right."

By the end of the show, things were somewhat better, but I don't think that the father will ever truly understand the damage he is doing. He didn't even think he was in the wrong, even after getting so angry with is son that he nearly choked him to death.

I couldn't help it. I started crying, and called Casey just to thank him for being a male-feminist, and for respecting me and treating me so well. It just broke my heart to see a woman and her family being put through the ringer. I realize that he probably just considers himself old-fashioned, but there is certainly a fine line that he has clearly passed.

What I want to know is: How does a family end up with 5 children? At some point, when you have 4, do you say to yourself, "You know, I still have a bit of control and sanity living here. Maybe I'll have another one." When you get to three, INVEST IN BIRTH CONTROL!

I understand that it may be against some religions, but sacrifices must be made. Clearly you are not able to give the kind of attention each one needs. Besides, we are no longer an agrerian society. You don't need to have 6 or 10 kids to help till the farm. Ease up already.

I must take my leave.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23