fish!
fish!
2005-05-17
2:07 p.m.
Backstreet's back. All right.

I keep disappearing on you people. Sorry about that. Casey had some surgery, so I got to play nursemaid, which I found more fun than should be legally allowed in the continental U.S.

My mother and I both have this weird penchant for taking car eof people and looking after people. She said it's because we are gifted with "servant's hearts." I think that makes me sound far more altruistic than I truly am. I could probably debate the nature of altruism for days, but, is something truly altruistic if it makes you happy to do it? I don't think so. But then, that would probably mean that there were no true altruistic acts - only people out for their own good, whatever that is.

I think Fundamentalism of any kind is just religion without a sense of humor.

If Jerry Falwell were really willing to die for his faith, wouldn't he have done so a long time ago? I mean, if he's so eager to "spread the word," I would think he'd be the first person to hop on a plane and get his ass to some "uncivilized - his terms, not mine" country, and get his ass kicked.

Did you ever notice that every televangelist strikes the same pose on tv? They never look directly at the camera. They're always squinting their eyes shut, with their head down, rubbing their foreheads like they've got a bad headache. And they're always deep in prayer. What's that about? Ever heard of talking directly TO the masses, mister Pat Robertson? Maybe, if he looks directly at the camera, he'll crack up laughing and the whole facade will be lost.

I've never understood evangelism. When you're a Southern Baptist, it's pretty much spread on your toast every morning that you have to go and share the gospel. But I was never one to shove something down someone's throat. And as much as I dog my dad in this thing, I'll say this for him: I actually learned a lot about being a "christian" from him, whatever that may be. I certainly learned more than I ever learned in church. Dad would give people money who had come in off the streets, not out of the church's fund, because the church had no such fund (surprise!), but out of his pocket. He took people out and bought them everyday supplies - toilet paper, milk, diapers. He was always a really welcoming person, actually. And I figured, why not act like that? It suits me far better to help someone out than to look down on them and preach something at them that even I don't understand.

I was a bit stuck on religion lately.

Also, what is WITH celebrities lately? What kind of personal trainer does Lindsay Lohan have? I'm sorry, I have never found a woman beautiful if she looks like she would bruise me if I bumped into her. Just a little fat on the body, really. It's okay. It won't kill you. It's actually good for you.

Since when do ALL of the Backstreet Boys have that awful raspy voice? Ugh. When they left, it was just A.J. Now they all sound bad. Casey says that the new song, Incomplete, sounds like Bryan Adams doing a guest vocal for Bon Jovi. I couldn't put it better myself, actually.

A little over a week ago I came down with some kind of allergy or infection or something. It started in my throat, and moved to my nose and my head and now it's in my ears, but it's still in my throat, and for the love of GOD, I want to stop producing so much mucus. This can't be healthy.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23