fish!
fish!
2005-06-29
1:42 a.m.
No Tom Cruise for you!

Item: I hate Tom Cruise. I refuse to see his stupid new movie. Not because of his whirlwind "We're in love and it's totally not related to our movies coming out within a week of each other" tour across the globe with Katie Holmes, whom I had previously thought an intelligent, level-headed actress.

No, no. It's because of that goddamn interview he did with Matt Lauer. The bastard referred to psychiatry as a pseudo-science, and claimed that he "had studied the history" of it. Um, reading a one-sided article written by a fellow myopic goofball doesn't count. Um, psychiatry is a MEDICINE, which is far more of a science than that thing you call SCIENtology.

The thing that makes me so angry is the fact that he has admitted to having dealt with dyslexia. So, without psychiatry and/or psychology (apparently also bad), I don't think he would have any techniques to overcome this diagnosis, which apparently doesn't exist.

Hypocrisy, table for one?

Last night, I had a dream that I married the oldest kid from Hanson. I don't know his name. I probably didn't know it in the dream. The reason we got married? I knew all the words to "Mmm Bop." Sadly, I do. I digress. Apparently, before this wedding had to take place, I was forced to lock myself in a bathroom, convert to his religion, whatever it is, and then parade around some chairs three times, while people spoke to me in Spanish. At the same time, I was dating Landon from The Real World, Philadelphia as well as Casey. We were all trapped on this giant cruise ship together that a plane crashed into. The bottom floor was flooding and I kept sliding all over the place.

Most people don't care about dreams. Usually in my dreams, Casey does something that pisses me off, which causes me to get angry with him in reality. Also, whenever you start a story with the phrase "This didn't happen, but..." I think most people tune out. But I thought it was kind of amusing.

I have strange obsessions of late. First, chef Mario Batali. I don't know what it is, but I have a weird celebrity crush on him. I think I just want to eat his food. Second, The Gilmore Girls. I realize that this show has been around for 5 seasons and I'm just now jumping on board, probably close to the same time it's ending, but I don't care. Even though, thanks to Lauren Graham and her role in Bad Santa, Christmas takes on a dirty meaning, I cannot get enough of it.

I also highly enjoy The Killers of late. I suggest that you purchase "Hot Fuss," or at least find a way to listen to "All these things that I've done." It's dandy.

My health insurance runs out in 2 days, so I'm hoping that, should I get super sick, it will happen right now. I don't get more until I go back to school.

Oh, yeah, I'm a whole year older since you last saw me. Oh, boy! My mom came to town and drove me nuts. She took me to lunch and proceeded to insist that I pick up applications at nearly every store at Hamburg Pavilion. I put my foot down with the movie theater. I have a degree, people. But, we did go to Bath and Body Works, where they were having a huge sale. I bought some shampoo and conditioner for something like $4. If you're a hair product snob like I am, this is a bargain. But I bought one particular brand of conditioner because it didn't have the scent of patchouli. I'm probably spelling that wrong. Anyway. All of the other conditioners contained this herb or flower or whatever the hell it is. I just don't like it. It smells like unshowered people bathing in incense. It smells like Sqecial Media, for my Lexington people. Yes, it's supposed to be "Sqecial." I don't know why.

Wouldn't you know that the instant I put this stuff on my hair, it did, in fact, smell like patchouli? Now I smell like incense!

Item: You should all watch 30 Days. It's the new series created by Morgan Spurlock (Super-Size Me). It's fascinating.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23