fish!
fish!
2005-07-17
2:39 a.m.
I feel like this should be titled 'OMG, JOHNNY DEPP IS SOOO HOTTTT!!!! LOL!!' Except that I am 25 years old and that is wrong.

So, last night I saw the new 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' And even if I didn't have some weird circa-1980s-Tiger-Beat-21-Jump-Street kind of crush on Johnny Depp of late, I would still recommend the film. I didn't find it nearly as scary as the original, but the portayal of Willy Wonka was some sort of bizarre amalgam of Michael Jackson, H.R. Puff-n-Stuff, and a Stepford Wife. And I think that's lovely. The music was just fucking dandy.

Anyway. I have a confession to make. A deep secret I hold in, known only by those closest to me. See, I normally turn my nose up at reality tv. The exceptions, of course, are Queer Eye, because I must always support the bretheren (and, hi!, did anyone else laugh till you peed when you saw Carson running around outside naked with the tiny QE logo over his giggleberries? Just me? okay.), and The Real World, because, while I find the cast each year to be increasingly slutty or naive or both (Hi, Trash-elle!), it's still the original. Survivor my ass, people.

But, I have another show I watch. Religiously. With the fervor of a hungry mongoose. I'm sorry, kids - I know you expect more out of me, but I am crazy for Laguna Beach. For those of you with better things to do with your time than watch MTV at weird-ass hours, this is a show about some spoiled high-schoolers living in Laguna Beach, California. And I am counting the hours until the Season 2 premiere.

I also get a big kick out of The 70s House. A bunch of kids are thrown into a house that's straight "Good Times/Brady Bunch," and best of all? They have to do The Hustle at all hours of the day. God Bless.

And now? Now we celebrate the Friday Five:

1. Are you more comfortable being the new kid or the experienced one?
I'd definitely rather be the experienced one. Nobody likes just groping around trying to find their way in the dark.

2. When is the last time you were the new kid?
Well, I'm tempted to say coming to college, but, really, everyone is the new kid there, so I guess it would be when I was in the 4th grade, and my parents moved me from Ozark, Alabama to Ft. Thomas, Kentucky, and I was known for about 3 years as "that hick girl with the accent. Ask her to say something. It's funny!" That was my whole name.

3. If we met face to face, right now, what would my first impression be of you?
Right now? That not everyone looks good in their pajamas, and that wearing pants is a good idea. And also, probably that I missed a spot of eyeliner when I washed off my makeup.

4. Who is the last person you said goodbye to?
Casey. He left me to sleep at his own apartment while he still can. Weenie.

5. Joey, Jordan, Donnie, Danny or Jon?
At the time, I was a 100% Joey girl. Right now, none of them, because I came to the realization that they all insisted on rocking either a mullet or a rattail. Dear God, why?

Also, the title of this week's "Five" was "New Kids on the Block."

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23