fish!
fish!
2005-07-28
12:24 a.m.
Rest assured, I will write comedy again.

I would like to say that working at Papa's is suck-o. I keep having the super-fun task of working on the ovens, which sucks anyway, and it sucks super ass when the air-conditioning isn't working. Yeah, it's been out in the store for at least a week. Customers come in to order food, and decide to sit in their cars because they don't want to wait inside. That is how bad it is.

I don't want to feel like I'm bitching all the time, although I usually am. Things could always be worse. This week is just so stressful. Matt found out that he had to move his stuff earlier than planned, so his bed's been gone since Monday. Essentially, he's already moved out. I mean, it kind of feel slike he's been gone for a while, but it's still sad, and a bit of a shock. And, believe it or not, I miss the obese Jack. So, Casey's been moving his stuff in spurts. My life is moving and working.

In happiness, Amanda is coming to Lexington in September with Chris for a wedding, so we'll finally get to see her after like 2 years. Hooray for that.

I try to keep up with what's going on in the lives of my cousins, who all have livejournals. But, that's really hard for me, because they all have this tendency to write nothing but stories about God and church. Is there not life outside of youth group? I have such a hard time swallowing all of that. I've never been one of those people who was all about evangelizing or prostheletizing or whatever, even in my days at Asbury. It just bores me to tears.

It just makes me kind of sad, because my family has always been very close, and very important to me, but I know, and they know, that we have very different priorities, and lead very different lives. I just have this feeling that they are constantly judging and disapproving of my life. At the same time, I really shouldn't give a rat's ass if someone 10 years younger than me doesn't approve. They are just sooooo sheltered that I sometimes wonder if they will ever know what life is actually like.

Speaking of which, did anyone else catch Rick Santorum on The Daily Show the other night? My first question is: why on earth would he agree to go on this show to plug his book? But beyond that, he just toasted my marshmallows. He was yammering on about how children raised in the "traditional" mom/dad 2-parent homes are better off than others. I have seen study after study, conducted by actual scientists (and not some boob at Focus on the Family), saying that children raised by same-sex parents are not any worse off than any other children. What matters is that they are able to see and experience true love between 2 people, without abuse or adultery.

And Jon Stewart started to bring this up: are you going to try and legislate that people not get divorced? That people not commit adultery? In the case of my parents, does Rick-o the Prick-o think that he can legislate that my father not be mentally ill? Because I promise, if my parents had stayed married, my mother and I would be so much more neurotic and mentally ill than we are right now. I think he needs to stop thinking in terms of "the ideal" and start dealing with the reality. Leave it to Beaver just doesn't happen anymore. And even The Brady Bunch was a blended family, pal.

So, that's my angry rant for the day. I just was dumbfounded that someone so educated could be so ignorant.

Okay, so, that's the end for me. I am quite spent and have a headache. If I don't update for a few days, I'm either in a coma, or in the midst of this whirlwind of moving.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23