fish!
fish!
2005-08-13
1:42 a.m.
The Final Countdown!

Today's Friday Five, titled "The Final Countdown," is in my opinion, paying homage to the greatly underrated band Europe. Anyway.

5. Did you follow NASA's latest space mission?
Not particularly. I can't ever keep up with when they're launching people, or bringing them home, and which of these missions actually contain people and which do not. So I usually wait until someone makes fun of it on The Daily Show.

4. If you could launch a politician into space, and perhaps they wouldn't make it back, who would it be?
First, I think it's extremely rude that I only get one. But I think I'm going to agree with Spike and say Dick Cheney. But also, if he wouldn't mind, I'd like for Dubya, Karl Rove, and Rick Santorum to go with him. Just a suggestion.

3. Do you believe in an after-life?
I don't know. "Believing" in God and Heaven and all that was such an ingrained part of my life for so many years that I have a hard time letting go of it, even though I have a lot of questions. So, I'll say that I probably do, but I don't think it's quite as I had imagined, or as most people anticipate.

2. If there really are aliens, what do you think they look like?
I definitely believe that life exists outside of our planet. It has to. I find it really hard to believe that one tiny planet in one tiny solar system in one of many galaxies would be the only suitable place for life. But in my mind, alien life is bacteria. Hollywood has blown it for me in believing it looks like anything else.

1. Have you ever been to Europe?
No way. I am one poor girl. But I still like that song.

Anyway.

There is something really off-kilter with my body. I'm tired of throwing up after standing for only an hour, and I'm also tired of getting headaches almost daily. One cannot be a nurse if one cannot be on her feet.

Speaking of which, my mom called tonight, and I finally told her. I had been kind of holding out until I had heard back from the school, because I didn't want her worrying about something else. But that turned out to be stupid on my part - seems she's quite angry that I let her go for several months without knowing that my plans had changed. In retrospect, it wasn't my brightest hour, but I'm so unbelievably protective of my mom that sometimes I don't tell her things because I'm afraid it will stress her out, and I don't like to do that.

My friend Gina's wedding is next weekend, which is still hard to believe. And this is weird - the wedding is at one location, then we are supposed to go to some hotel for appetizers and drinks, and a completely different place (some ballroom somewhere?) for the actual reception. My God, this is going to be a long day.

That is all for now. I'm getting somewhat boring again, which makes me sad.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23