fish!
fish!
2005-08-24
11:00 a.m.
It's me, it's JB, I'm sucking upon your toes.

One of my oldest and closest friends got married over the weekend. And, like most people with two x chromosomes, the whole occasion hasleft me thinking about the wedding I'd like to have someday.

The funniest thing to me about weddings is that even the most conservative of people will use this passage from the book of Ruth in the Bible. The Reader's Digest version is that a woman whose husband dies chooses to stay with her mother-in-law, who then goes off to find her a new man. And they always quote this passage, which is something like, "Wherever you go, I'll go and your people will be my people." Sounds nice enough, except for the fact that the phrase was uttered by Ruth (the widow) to her mother-in-law, and several scholars believe this particular story to be one of lesbian love.

So, I know I have to get married in a church, if for no other reason than the fact that my parents will not help pay for it if I don't. But I'd rather not hide behind the facade of the pseudo-religious, but kinda gay passages. If I have special readings, they'll be passages from Anais Nin or Rilke.

Speaking of ridiculous unbridles conservatism, Casey and I went to a cookout for Dad's birthday with my grandparents. Out of nowhere, hand to God, my grandpa leans over to me and says, "Did you know colored people can't say 'R's?" What the fuck do you say to that? All I could think to ask what, "Why?," my intention being, 'Why was that something you felt you needed to share?' and he took it as "Why can't those people talk right?" Jesus the fuck. That was just the beginning that lead into this long debate about the war and the president. Thank God my dad married into a liberal family, and that Casey was there - otherwise, I would've lost my mind. Fortunately, my stepsister feels the same way about things as I do.

Is it me, or does it seem that as soon as you're in a relationship, people are interested in you? There's a guy at work that I'm pretty sure has a crush on me, and some kid came and tried to chat me up for over an hour. Hi, if I tell you I live with my boyfriend, and I wear a ring on my left ring finger, how many more ways are there to say, "I'm not looking."??

My job is going to kill me. Regardless of how late I'm scheduled, I always have to stay at least an hour past the time I'm supposed to be off. During the summer, it wasn't so bad, because I wasn't doing anything else. But I'm taking classes now, and I don't have time to work full-time and go to school full-time if I want to get good grades.

Speaking of work, my boss, Skippy, who has to be the most enlightened man ever, led a debate with some of the boys yesterday about who's hotter - Asian women or Black women. And then they started talking about foot fetishes, and all I could think about for the rest of the night was the song 'Double Teamed' by Tenacious D - We don't mind sucking on toes!

I know I had good intentions of updating this thing more regularly - hopefully if I ever get some time off of work, I'll be able to do that. Bastards.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23