fish!
fish!
2005-09-08
12:07 a.m.
Since you've been gone.

The best joke I ever heard, from The Daily Show with Jon Stewart.

Backstory: Edd Helms was reporting on the state of Hurricane Katrina.

Helms: With this president in office, he will most likely approve the building of a $1 Billion Dam across Arkansas...

Stewart: Wait, why in Arkansas?

Helms: That way, they can fight the water over there, instead of over here.

Oh, Daily Show. You restore my faith in people's ability to question out fearless leaders.

I realize that this seems minor compaired to the fact that there are so many people dealing with major tragedy and life stress, but my grandpa had a minor stroke yesterday. I was kind of upset, espcially since I was at work when I found out, and my mom had left me a message on my cell phone. Since I really do have the world's most enlightened boss, he started asking all of these personal questions about my grandpa, pointed out that by this point, I should be 'expecting him to drop at any moment,' and then proceeded to make Alzheimer jokes. I swear to God, one of these days, I will jam his balls down his own throat.

This Friday is my Anniversary with Casey. Since we were together for much longer than when we officially decided we were together, rather than celebrate the actual date we became a couple, we picked an arbitrary date - one that would be easy to remember. And instead of "numbering" the anniversaries, we are referring to them as, for example, the 2005 anniversary. So we're going to dinner at this restaurant I've always wanted to try, and then we are going to see "The Exorcism of Emily Rose," because I am a glutton for punishment. The ads for this movie give me nightmares. Whee.

Also, go see The Aristocrats. Wait, let me rephrase this. If you aren't easily offended, go see The Aristocrats. Funniest movie I've seen in years.

I'm at least starting to make friends at work. Most of the people I enjoy hanging around and talking to are drivers, but it really helps. That's always the hardest part of starting a new job.

Finally, Hilary Duff looks ridiculous. Whoever authorized those stupid veneers was either out of his/her mind, or playing a joke on the girl, because seriously? She looks exactly like either Gary Busey or Edvard Munch's "The Scream."

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23