fish!
fish!
2005-01-04
9:19 p.m.
Off my chest. And I do feel lighter.

My favorite episode of Queer Eye is on right now. It's the one where the guy makes this ravioli that looks so good I want to lick my tv.

Anyway, I got a digital camera for Christmas, so I was going to post these pictures I took, but I'm still trying to figure it all out. I've got them loaded onto my computer, but I still don't know how to change the settings and make them smaller. Whatever.

Basically, until classes start, I don't have anything that I have to do, which means that I'm getting a much-needed vacation, although my sleep schedule is totally goofy. I do keep getting obnoxious emails from students wondering about their grades; I'm really tempted to send out a generic email that says that I'm on vacation and I won't be answering any emails until classes start again. I don't think I have a responsibility to these kids anymore. I might just send an email like that. Hey, I'm on vacation - you don't bother me, I don't bother you.

It's been great...I don't think I've worn underwear in a week, and only put on make-up if I'm going to Casey's or something. However, I am getting irritated with staying at home with the cats. I feel like a stay-at-home mom with fighting kids whose husband is constantly away or something.

The thing is, I can't shut them out of my bedroom because they have amenities in my bathroom, and the only way to get to the bathroom is through the bedroom. So I spend all day keeping Jack or B from either biting me or knocking shit off, or carrying pads and tampons around the apartment...you get the idea. When I try to shut them out of my room, they have a fit.

I very much want to see Kinsey. Apparently I have to wait until Casey finishes some assignment he has. Or I could go by myself, I guess. Maybe I need more friends.

New Year's Eve was okay. Casey and I went to Adult Prom, hosted by my friends Olivia and Jimmy again. I think they do this every year. I was really looking forward to the fact that our hotel room had a tempur-pedic matress, which my parents have. They love theirs. Casey and I both woke up with severe back pain. So that was kind of disappointing. Also, the alcohol selection left something to be desired. They had some rum, some vodka, 2 kinds of whiskey (which I hate), wine and beer. That was about it. Casey had bought some champagne, so that was nice to have, although I overheard some people getting pissy because we didn't share. Too bad. You could've brought your own.

So I don't think we'll be doing that next year. For one thing, I oly knew a couple of people there, and don't really care for any of the ones I knew, save Olivia. I mean, if I actually wanted to keep in touch with these people, I'd be doing so. Also, Casey wasn't feeling well, so we had to leave the party for a while so he could lie down for a minute.

I got an email from my friend Tiffany, and it said something really wonderful....she said, "I bought these tickets on a whim for one of my favorite bands, Modest Mouse. I've never heard of the guy opening up for them; his name is Gavin Degraw, I think? But anyway, if you want to go, it will be on me."

So, I get to hang out with Tiff, which is awesome, I get to go to Nashville for free, which rocks, AND, I get to see Gavin DeGraw. Oh, happy day. It's on January 21. I'll be counting the days.

My dad is in a bad mood because he had his first fight with my stepmom. That's one of the things that bugs the shit out of me. Anyone who bases whether or not they're happy on their relationships. So, you're only happy when you're in one, or when it's going well. I fucking hate that. Because I guess I'm cynical, but I don't think that things will always be good. Sometimes the good does not outweigh the bad, and expecting friends or daughters to pick up the pieces when your love life isn't going well? That's not fair and it isn't my job.

Okay, that's off my chest.

Now I'm off to rest again. You know, because all this vacationing is so tiring.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23