fish!
fish!
2001-11-05
6:40 p.m.
Sad story

Okay, I know you're all thinking that because this is my second entry in one day, that I'm procrastinating. You'd be right. I couldn't possibly be less interested in writing this stupid paper about my family for Soc 409. Anybody else want to do it? Anyone?

Why is it that the maintenance people find it absolutely necessary to blow leaves all over campus during primo class times? There are just going to be more later. Why not wait until all the leaves have fallen off of every tree and then blow them all around?

Did anyone notice that when you're in class, every loud and obnoxious truck in the thriving metropolis that is Lexington drives by? What is that about?

The saddest thing happened to me today. When I was walking back from class, this adorable little black girl (you will see in a second why I pointed out her race - I wouldn't normally do that) who couldn't have been more than 6 years old, was outside singing a little song to herself. I couldn't help but smile. Then she turned to me and said, "I'm not supposed to talk to white people."

I will never in a million years know what it feels like to be any color than the one I am. I won't. But it's no wonder that there is still racism in America in 2001 when it obviously is starting in the home. And I know that it's not just a white thing or a black thing - it's everywhere. I don't even know what to think about it. How do you react when someone says that to you? I just kind of stood there, still smiling like an idiot.

I guess sometimes life teaches you lessons. I'm not quite sure what the lesson was that I was supposed to learn today. Sometimes I think that I'm being sent little reality checks. There are days when I'm walking along, thinking, "Yeah, I'm cool. I look good."

Then I trip.

My paper is calling my name, but I think if I turn the music up a little louder I can drown it out.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23