fish!
fish!
2005-09-23
1:37 p.m.
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week.

Is it me, or is hotmail fucking up royally for anyone else? It's been completely out of service for almost 2 days.

It's Friday. You know what that means.

Sell your soul for complete control.

1. What kind of lighting is around you?
My computer is next to the window in my bedroom, so right now, that's all the light I have. It's kind of nice - usually, I only turn on all the lights if I have to work on some homework.

2. What do you think of your singing voice?
I think it's probably better than average. I have a few friends who think they can sing much better than they actually can, so I'd like to avoid making that mistake (hi, just because you can kind of hit the notes doesn't mean it's pretty). But, I have been asked to sing at several functions, like weddings, anniversaries, other church-y occasions, and I actually sang in our marching band show my senior year of high school. We did an ode to Riverdance. Remember the Riverdancing? So I can either sing okay, or people feel really, really sorry for me.

3. Who do you try to please?
Ultimately, the most important people in my life are my boyfriend, and my parents - Mom, Dan, Dad, and Theresa. So, long as they are pleased with me, I'm content.

4. Describe your last dream:
The most recent one I can remember occurred shortly after I saw The Exorcism of Emily Rose. I dreamed that I had to try and exorcise her demons. Nevermind the fact that I'm not a catholic priest. You know how those movies always scare the bejeezus out of me? I'm never afraid of actually being possessed. I'm always afraid that possessed people are going to come after me.

5. When is the last time you bought flowers?
It's been a LOOOOONG time. I'd say probably Mother's Day 4 or 5 years ago. My stepdad always buys flowers for my mom for special occasions, but I kind of think that if that's all you're giving someone, it's kind of generic. I'd rather have or give something that required some thought and/or creativity. Flowers are like a step above cash in a card in my book.

Does anyone else watch Family Guy? If so, this should crack you up:

Funny, non?

In other news, I'm experiencing some severe culture shock with EKU. Here's the thing...I realize that Lexington isn't really the hub of civil liberties and tolerance, but it's freaking Canada compared to Richmond. Everywhere I look, people have those awful Man+Woman=Family bumper stickers on their cars that the religious wrong (I refuse to call them 'right') was handing out at the last election when the gay marriage issue was up for a vote. I soooo desperately want to take a Sharpie and write "divorce" over the word "family." Apparently that would be vandalism.

Also, there are several dorm rooms on campus that sport confederate flags in the windows. Are you fucking joking? I think it's hysterical when people try to argue that it's not about discrimination, it's about "Southern Pride." Bull-fucking-shit.

Here's where my beloved Casey and I differ - I believe in freedom of speech, but when your speech is vitriolic, hateful, and in any way, discriminatory, I draw the line. I don't think EKU should allow its students to display those flags. The bumper stickers are another issue for another time. Casey is of the "Freedom of speech, regardless" camp. I just think that when you display ignorance, you forfeit the right to speak your bigoted mind.

My cats: hysterical. They're getting along so much better now. The other day, I caught them spooning and grooming each other. However, one of them keeps hiding my glasses. Seriously, every night I put them on my dresser before I fall asleep, and everyday, they're someplace different. Not just on the floor, but strategically hidden! This means that one of my cats takes the time to scout out an ideal location for this hide-and-seek game, waits until I fall asleep, carries them off in his mouth, and puts them out of my sight. Lord.

Casey is interviewing for positions as a law clerk in Lexington and Louisville with state supreme court justices. Should he get a job in Louisville, we have to make a decision about what to do - do we move? Does he move? Does he commute? I'm hoping that he gets a position with one whose name is escaping me - a Clinton appointee, and a woman. The rest were all Regan, Bush Sr., or Dubya appointees. And nobody wants that.

I'm interviewing for a new job on Monday. Everyone send out good mojo so I can get it. I cannot continue to work at Papa's. The conditions are inhumane. Some jackass broke the a/c, and we had to work in 99-degree weather. It was cooler outside. I was already sick - that didn't help. But also, they NEVER give me a break. And I need more money. I work my ass off, constantly pulling overtime, and I still make the same amount as the teenage mom, high school dropouts the hired last week. Bullshit.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23