fish!
fish!
2001-11-11
10:11 p.m.
"I lit a thin green candle."

I almost always have a song stuck in my head. Is that normal? I don't care - it makes life interesting to always have an internal soundtrack.

So for some reaosn the song I can't get out of my head now is Leonard Cohen's "One of us cannot be wrong." I have no idea why. When I was in middle school and in the marching band, my friend Kelly taught it to me so we could sing it on those long band trips. I hadn't even thought about it since, maybe, my junior year of high school, which was probably the last time I had a chance to sing it with her. I have no idea why it has suddenly popped back into my head...

"I lit a thin green candle to make you jealous of me, but the room just filled up with mosquitoes. They heard that my body was free. Then I took the dust of a long sleepless night, and I put it in your little shoe. And then I confessed that I tortured the dress that you wore for the world to look through..la de da..."

I think Leonard had some issues.

I didn't go to the Southland 608 tonight. I took a nap instead. I could've done so many productive things with my day, and I took a nap. I have 2 tests and a paper due this week. But no, it was naptime. Maybe now I'll be well-rested enough to stay up for the Chris Wylde Show starring Chris Wylde (I LOVE this guy) and The Critic.

I somehow let Gina talk me into going to the Krog with her. I was ready to kill her for leaving this weekend - it was her turn to buy milk and she didn't get any and all that we had here was some geriatric milk from like 2 weeks ago or something. I'm not putting that on my Rice Krispies. So anyway, I don't know how I let her talk me into going, since I was looking uber-sexy with no makeup and my spectacles on. Everyone please try to remain calm; I know that is too much for people to handle. Fortunately I didn't really see anyone I knew, and there were people there looking worse than us, in pajamas and such. At least I remembered to put some pants on.

Now I will leave you further lyrics from Mr. Cohen; I think perhaps the second verse:

"I showed my heart to the doctor. He said I'd just have to quit. Then he wrote himself a prescription and your name was mentioned in it. Then he locked himself in a library shelf with the details of our honeymoon And I hear from the nurse that he's gotten much worse and his practice is all in a ruin. La de da..."

At least there are people who are weirder than I am, and I think that's proof right there.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23