fish!
fish!
2001-11-11
11:50 a.m.
My personal thoughts on Shallow Hal

Okay, I have had some time to think, and I think I'm ready to comment on my Shallow Hal experience.

First off, I have to give props to Gwyneth Paltrow, because I think she really did capture the mannerisms and thoughts of a "morbidly obese" person. I absolutely hate that terminology. My thoughts of people who are morbidly obese are those who cannot get out of bed. Apparently the AMA has different thoughts.

So, having said something positive about the movie, I think I can say something negative, too. A 300-pound person does not break chairs. A 300-pound person does have ankles, thanks for asking. A 300-pound person does not clear a swimming pool when jumping in. How do I know this? Because I used to weigh that much. So there. FYI I don't anymore; thank you very much, Dr. Bolar and the entire staff at Georgetown Community Hospital. It annoys me to no end to see her character eating tons of food, though. People who are "metabolically challenged" are not usually that way because they eat too much. In most cases, they don't eat any more than anyone else. (There are exceptions, I will admit, but in my mind, they are rare).

And why is it that the people who are "undesireable" are overweight anyway? I've known plently of skinny people I found utterly unattractive, and I think I'm pretty damn cute, so stick that in your pipe and smoke it.

I think that the way the story ended (which I will not give away) was definitely better than I was expecting, but to be honest, sometimes I didn't know whether I should be laughing at the jokes or not.

And why in the hell are Jack Black and Jason Alexander allowed to be so picky anyway? Has anyone SEEN them lately? Let he who is without fault cast the first stone, buddy.

The creators of the movie (good old Farrely brothers) have been saying in interviews that they think this movie will help change the public's perception of the overweight. I disagree entirely. If anything, it will make it worse. Rosemary is shown in every scene as either eating or breaking something. Nice. Also, what very large girl wears clothes that ride up her ass? Well, actually, I can think of one - we refer to this problem as Amber Syndrome. Amber, if by some off chance you happen to come across this, sorry. Someone had to tell you. Your clothes don't fit. Please just admit it and shop at Lame Giant like all the rest of us. I mean, Rosemary was wearing a bikini, for God's sake. What the hell?

Oh, and if he was supposed to see inner beauty as outer beauty, why didn't most of the other females he met who were attractive become butt-ugly? And who says what beautiful is, anyway? I think if someone saw my inner beauty, it would most likely look just like me. And that is fine.



My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23