fish!
fish!
2001-11-12
5:18 p.m.
Hi, it's great to be at Curves. Would you like to kiss my ass?

I am rediscovering the love I once held for Eiffel 65. I was hesitant to listen to that CD for a while (it used to be my good "gettin' high" music, although I haven't listened to it in more than a year). Wow! Two drug references in one day. I'm thinking it must have some relevance to our recent topics of discussion in K-Lo's class. I'm currently considering pursuing a career in psychopharmacology, although my stepdad doesn't think it would suit me to do research all day long in a lab. Either that or sex therapy. Don't laugh. There may be a reason why I am so interested in the sex lives of my friends.

Over the summer I worked at our local Curves for Women, which, for those who don't know, is a fitness center for women. I got hooked up with this little job because my aunt's best friend, who is over so much, she's part of the family, Pam (aka Aunt Pammy) owns it, and my aunt Lori is in charge of the books. In other words, I have mad connections. As a side note, one thing I absolutely love about my family is that they welcome anyone that you bring over with open arms. Pam's mom lives far away, and she has taken to spending the major holidays with our family. My grandma has even made her a stocking. Another example: last year, my dumb-ass stepsister (I'm not too find of the sibs) brought her boyfriend over, who, I might add, is the most unattractive individual you've ever seen. His teeth are funky. But it's not just that - I could get over that, but I've had pimples on my ass with more personality and charm than he possesses. But I digress. My sister Katie brought this winner to Christmas last year completely unannounced and my grandma, without a second's hesitation, ran in the back and made him a sticking and found something to give him so he wouldn't feel left out. Does she rule or what?

Okay, back on track here, working at Curves...

I had to listen to the world's most obnoxious music all day long, when I wasn't measuring people and lying through my teeth, telling them, yes, it is possible for you to be in a size 4 by the end of the summer (If you come 6 times a day and quit eating). Or answering the phone (Hi, it's great to be at Curves, can I help you?) when I was really thinking (Hi. I had to get up at 6:00 this morning, I haven't had any coffee yet, these people are using the machines all wrong, does anyone have a sandwich, what the hell do you want???). But there was this one CD that I always put in when it was my shift, which consisted of these broadway showtunes set to aerobic music. Aunt Pammy, incidentally, always switched it out for some country classics CD, which made me want poke my eyes out and scream bloody murder.

So, stay on track, Lyss. There was this one song that I fell in love with. If you haven't heard it, I strongly suggest that you listen to it. It's from the musical Chess, which I have neither seen, nor heard of, actually, but it was called "One Night in Bangkok." The whole reason I loved it was because it actually contained the line "One night in Bangkok and the world's your oyster." As far as I'm concerned, every good song should make mention of marine animals. Am I right?

I think the best remake of a song I've heard recently (and I generally hate remakes) is N'Sync's version of Boston's "More Than a Feeling." I have a special place in my heart for this song anyway, but the way they sing it is just loverly. Yes, I know that it's been around for quite some time, but I'm a little behind the times. Isn't it weird how sometimes you can hear a song and your mind immediately takes you back to some context in which you originally listened to it? You can see the people there, you can smell the smells, hear the sounds...I love my imagination. I would write stories for a living, but I think that they would make about as much sense as Lewis Carroll on a good day.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23