fish!
fish!
2001-11-15
2:52 p.m.
The weekend approaches

I came to the realization yesterday that the reason I have been feeling so chipper lately is because I haven't been home in quite a while - I think five weeks. That is a record for me. It's not that I despise going home because of my family or anything - I love them. But they make it difficult for me to understand my own sense of self. They bring back all of those issues within me, where I want to be myself, but I want to please them, too. I'm just having a hard time having enough faith in them that they will accept me for who I am.

Regardless, I am actually looking forward to going home, if for no other reason than to just get some time alone away from my roommates. I cannot live in this filth anymore and I'm sick and tired of cleaning up after Shelly and Todd. This morning when I woke up there were plates of macaroni sitting on the couch in the living room, cups of half-drunk soft drinks and sticky sweet tea on the tables, and dirty socks on the floor. I'm not a neat freak by any means, but nasty is nasty.

I've been feeling my sex drive diminshing recently. I'm still talking about sex all the time, but the thought of actually making the effort to go through with it all - just makes me tired thinking about it.

Alicia and I were sitting outside the classroom building today when we happened to see our good buddy Liz, from the sorority. Her wedding plans are coming along very smoothly. She picked out flowers last weekend and next week is the cake. I decided last week that if and when I do decide to get married, I want to have the chocolate lasagna from the Olive Garden as my wedding cake. Yum. I don't think I ever actually want to be married - I just want to get married. You know, your wedding day is a day dedicated entirely to you. People tell you all day long that you are beautiful, you get to be a princess, and then some man tells you he's going to love you for the rest of his life. I don't want to be a wife. I just want to be a bride. Maybe I'll move out of this vanity stage I'm currently in. My new goal is to try and actually listen to people when they are talking to me and not just be thinking about what I'm going to say next. This one is going to take some work. But I expect all of my friends (yup, I'm talkin to you!) to keep me in check with this, okay?

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23