fish!
fish!
2001-11-18
9:16 p.m.
A day on the levee

So, I have returned from the land of Oz, although I will visit again in 2 days. Seems pointless to have even come back here. Oh well.

Today my mom and I went to the newest "hot spot" in Northern Kentucky, although as far as I'm concerned, it's the only hot spot, Newport on the Levee. This is Newport/Bellevue's way of bringing in tourism (Hey kids, this year, instead of going to the Bahamas like we planned, we're going to Newport!). I have to say that the whole setup is really nice. When I was walking around up there, I almost forgot where I was. I might've completely forgotten, had it not been for the malodorous aroma of the Ohio River. The choice of stores in the little "quasi-mall" area is a little odd, though. It's all stores I haven't heard of before, but they all sell skater clothes. There's that and then an American Eagle Outfitters, which was the most cramped one of those I've ever seen, right next to the biggest Claire's Boutique I've ever seen. Life is strange. I mean, when was the last time you were in Claire's when you weren't so surrounded by 12-year olds they were sticking out your nose?

Then outside there's a Barnes and Noble. I'm so excited we have one of those really close to us now. That's the kind of store you can literally be in all day and not even notice. I can't figure out exacly what kind of people they're trying to attract with this setup, but it sure is working. There was definitely an eclectic mix there this afternoon. I wish I had my camera...

While I was there, I ran across an old friend of mine from the long-ago days of marching band, Clay. Actually, the last time I saw him was when I sang at his wedding, right after my high school graduation. He was three years older than me, by the way, and I always thought he was extra cute. Well, wouldn't you know it, he's divorced and gay now. That figures. I must've done it, right? Actually he was my first kiss. We were on the band bus (if you don't know what a typical trip on the band bus is like, it's essentially a big orgy - the actual content of what goes on varies, depending on who the chaperones were and where they sat). Anyway, there was a big group of us coming back from a basketball game one night and we decided to play a little game called "dare or dare." The mechanics of this game are relatively simple. You give someone something to do and give them the option of doing it to 2 different people. So he was supposed to kiss someone and it was either supposed to be me or someone else (I don't remember who, sorry this is a little vague) and he chose me. Although I thought he was extra cute, I was hoping and praying that he would say the other girl, cause I didn't know the first thing about kissing someone. And I was a freshman. Who's pathetic? So there's the story of my first kiss. Romantical, isn't it? Moral of this story: Don't ask me to sing at your wedding. I guess I'm bad luck or something.

My mom and I saw Monsters, Inc. this afternoon at this place, too. Basically, this whole Newport on the Levee thing is a place where you can do lots of stuff in one swell location. I mean, since when does going to the movies involve having to park in a parking garage? So, I'm not ashamed to admit that I cried during this little film. That's right. I cried. It was damn sweet. Those people at Disney know how to tug on my heart strings.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23