fish!
fish!
2001-11-22
10:08 p.m.
Thanksgiving!

Well, for starters, I reckon I should send out a big Happy Thanksgiving to all, so there. You got it. That's all the sentiment you get from me tonight.

I am coming to accept my lot in life as the person who rides in the backseat holding the pastries.

So another fantastic holiday down in my family. Yippee. Well, I don't even know what to think about these people anymore. My aunt Shirl has officially lost her mind. She spent quite an amount of time this afternoon telling us how the whole Harry Potter book series is about witchcraft. My family is nuts. Granted, I am in no hurry to get in line to see this "fantacrap," but not because I think it has anything to do with balck magic. Just cause I would rather go shopping. Shirl is rather charismatic - she openly admits to speaking in tongues. Weird. I have never felt like I fit into this family. They are all so solidly grounded in their faith and here I am meandering the halls of faith trying to figure out where I think I'm going. Blah. Not even my cousins ever experience a moment of doubt. This is why I spend MY Thanksgivings passed out on my grandparents' bed. Fortunately there was no "show" this year. I don't know how many times I can listen to my cousins' rendition of some DC Talk song with accompanying expressive movements.

I'm seriously considering calling up some old high school chums. Honestly, though, some of them, you really have to be heavily sedated to be able to stand them. There's a reason I don't talk to them anymore!

I don't know if I've ever shared this before, but I have this irrational "third wheel phobia." Okay, if it's a phobia, of course it's irrational, Lyss. This town is making me stupider. By the way, after spending the day listening to my grandma's and my mom's stories, I have discovered why I can't tell a good story. You should hear these people. My mother's train of thought is in another state entirely.

Back to the thrid wheel issues, I don't know where it has come from, but whenever I'm alone with a couple, I think they want me to leave so they can have "naked time." Even my parents. I don't understand why in the world I would expect my parents to be so inappropriate. I'm not used to affection - being around it or getting it.

My personal hell would be spending the rest of my life in this town. When I was trying to decide where I would go to school, and all of my friends opted to stay in town and go to NKU, or as I like to call it, no knowledge university, I heard the Tracy Chapman song "Fast Car" and completely related to one of her lyrics: "We've gotta make a decision - leave tonight or live and die this way." So I got the hell out of Dodge. And then managed to go to the only school in the state where all of the OTHER people I went to high school with went.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23