fish!
fish!
2001-12-20
5:03 p.m.
Christmas = fighting with family. Oh, what cheer!

So, it's official. The holidays are in full swing. How do I know this? Because I want to kill my stepsisters.

I know that people get really sick of reading about how other people's lives suck, especially around the holidays. I'm not bitching so much about my life in general, just the three bitches who I happily get to call family. Anyway, if you don't want to read it, I'm not making you.

Okay, for nineteen years, all I wanted were sisters. When I was little, it's all I used to ask Santa for. Charming, isn't it? So, when my mom and Dan got married, and he had three girls, imagine my delight! And I have tried to be a good sister. I used to drive them places before they could drive, and I bought them stuff all the time. But boy, you know, you really learn the hard way that you can't buy someone's love.

So the King's Island incident. I've mentioned it before, but never explained, so I will now. Basically, Dan has a company picnic every year at King's Island, and this was the first year I could go. I was soooo excited about getting to spend time with the girls. Well, it was only a couple of months after my surgery, and I could barely walk, but I braved the trip anyway, offering to stand in line with them for whatever ride they wanted to ride and then just stepping over and waiting for them until it had finished. Okay, first, we were late to begin with, because Melanie, who is 17, just HAD to spend the morning with her ugly-ass boyfriend Adam, who was not invited. So when we got to Hamilton to pick up her and Angela, who is 14, she had just gotten home and we had to wait forever for her to get ready. by the time we got there, there wasn't any food left and I think my lunch consisted of a tomato. Nice. Did she apologize? Nope. But I could get over that.

Then we were supposed to meet Katie, who is 20, by the front gate, cause she was coming right after work at 6. Well, of course, she was 45 minutes late and who did she bring with her, but the creature she calls her boyfriend, Jerad. That's how you spell his name. Dorky, dorky name to go with a stupid ass boyfriend. I know you're thinking that I'm mean. I try to find something beautiful in everyone., I really do. But you know the effect that Janice has on Joey in Friends? This is how I feel about this kid. He is soooo obnoxious. And what's worse is that the other two girls flirt with him like none other. So, basically once they showed up, it was like the three girls and Jerad, and then Mom, Dan, and me. It sucked. Finally, I said something about it - something along the lines of, "How about we stop flirting with Jerad for one minute so we can decide where we're eating." Oh my God, Katie flew off the handle, yelling at me about him being HER boyfriend and she can flirt with him whenever she wants. I started screaming back, and before I knew it, I was in tears. Yeah, nothing says fun like a day at King's Island.

Cut to Christmas. I'm not in any big hurry to see them again after that. It's like the whole world always revolves around them and they never even fucking apologize for screwing everything up (like Christmas last year - another story for another time). Basically, Dan told Katie that the boyfriends weren't invited this year. Oh, I forgot to mention that I think Jerad has all of 6 teeth, and they all point in different directions. If this guy sounds worthy of dissing your family over him, you need help.

At first, Katie was okay with it, but then a couple of minutes later she called him up and she was pissed. She wanted to know why they weren't allowed to come (um, because they're ugly pigs, who never even say thank you when we feed their fat asses?) and then wanted Dan to name ONE occasion when they ignored us and talked to the boys. Yeah, I can think of like four. So she said, "Good luck seeing us at Christmas." That's nice. I think I've held my tongue long enough, and I'm going to write to her. Fuck it if she gets pissed - the only person she can be mad at is me. I'm done being treated like this, and I'm even more done with her treating Dan like this. They don't know what a bad father is, believe me, but I can sure show them. I don't know if I'm actually going to say something. Mom always tells me not to, but I think it's not helping anything to be quiet. As I always say, there's no point in bitching about your problems unless you're going to try to solve them.

Okay, I feel better now. Sorry for the bitch-fest so early in the holiday season, but if nothing else, you can always rely on my family to provide the holiday dysfunction.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23