fish!
fish!
2001-12-23
11:45 p.m.
I talked to Ben! Yes, I am a dork!

Who's that spartan that talked to Ben? It's me! It's me!

That's right, kiddies, you heard it here first. Today I was officially introduced by my stepdad to "Ben, the great," who in my eyes is a quasi-celebrity. Well, he does have two cds out. Yes, I own both of them.

But, see, rather than have you think that I am obsessive (no, I don't obsess at all!), I prefer to think of myself as more of a groupie.

Okay, yes, I sound like a 12-year old. I will not bore you with the details of the whole I-said-this-he-said-this, although, if I do say so myself, I think I held my composure quite well, considering that my stomach had lodged itself somewhere in the vicinity of my toes.

I don't have much to say regarding today's festivities at Grandma's house. I am extraordinarily jealous that my cousin Bethany got the gift that keeps on giving - this board game I've been dying for called Moods. We played it this evening, and it was delightful. Brings out my inner thespian. And my cousin Billy got this computer game called Roller Coaster Tycoon, and we spent the better part of the afternoon building roller coasters that weren't quite completed and then sending riders into oblivion. It's only fun if you're as demented as we are. Oh, but on the subject of this game, while we were hacking away at it, my cousin Shara (get used to it; I have lots of cousins) wandered in and started trying to name the rides and the amusement park itself, which turned out to be really amusing, but only because I have a sick sense of humor. First of all, she wanted to name the park itself, sipilus. Say it out loud. Go ahead, I'll wait... Okay, does anyone else recognize that it sounds a whole lot like SYPHILIS (NOT my favorite STD, by the way; my favorite is chlamydia, but not from personal experience, mind you. I just like it). Okay, no one else in my family got that joke, of course, but it doesn't matter. I had myself a private chuckle. Anywho, she also wanted to name the Viking Ship, "The Swinging Viking." I don't think she has any idea of the kind of crowd she's attracting here. Whatever. She has yet to be perverted. Oh, God, when it happens, let it be good.

So, I have determined that being at my grandma's surrounded by family is kind of like having someone bang cymbals right in front of your face for about four hours. It's just way too much commotion for me. I'm a quiet person; my mother is quiet - we lead a quiet life. You know, it surprises me that more only children aren't introverted. All the ones I know are as social as can be, except for me. Too many people in one space with too much noise and I have an instinct to hide under a chair somewhere.

You know, I was going to talk about this other kid that I ran into today at church, but I've decided to go to bed instead. I will tell everyone later. It's juicy gossip, though. Oh, where would I be without the sweet ringing of gossip through the trees? Night!

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23