fish!
fish!
2002-01-02
1:17 p.m.
Random thoughts about my name

Have you ever been just dead asleep and something wakes you up and you say something that makes absolutely no sense? This morning, I was snoozin' away when the whone rang, which jolted me out of the deepest sleep ever, and I actually said out loud: "You can eat sex while you're doing it, too."

Sometimes I think I should have my head examined.

Today, I received a Christmas present from my dad's girlfriend in the mail. It was these little notepads with my name on them. They actually say, "A note from Alyssa."

This wouldn't excite many people, but I spent the majority of my early years just hoping that SOMEONE would make SOMETHING with my name on it. I used to wish my name was Sarah or Jennifer or something common or easy to pronounce. I've come to terms with my name these days. I think it suits me - it's still fairly uncommon, but not freaky.

Also, I got a Christmas card from the estranged grandparents. For some reason, all of the female grandchildren are called by their first and middle names, like it's all one big name. You would think that, at 21, I would have outgrown this at some point. Apparently not yet. There was my name on this card, just a'blazin'. And they didn't even put the accent in my middle name.

Okay, to be fair, there really isn't an accent on my birth certificate. I added it myself a couple of years ago. See, you can write my whole name and never dot or cross anything. I always feel like I'm not done when I sign anything, cause there are no i's or t's or the ever popular j. So I threw an accent in my middle name, just for fun.

I talked to Niki online last night for a little while, which makes me an uber-happy panda. I hadn't really talked to her since I left. God, I miss her like crazy. She's the best person I know.

I know, I'm being like a weird, weepy nutjob these days. I think it's my hormones. And my parents. They're driving me bananas. I can't even describe for you the strange dancing that took place in my kitchen last night. I swear, I'm not related to these people.

Katie and I bonded yesterday over what our favorite mixed drink was. That was the highlight of my entire day, I swear.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23