fish!
fish!
2002-01-11
10:13 p.m.
Long entry about my eyebrow ring...

Did I ever tell you all about my eyebrow ring? It didn't last too long. I don't even know why I feel this is entry-worthy; it just is. I was looking at these pictures on my closet doors and noticed that the scar on my eyebrow was extremely visible in them, so I thought I would share my experience.

So, it was the summer of 2000. I was just coming out of this ridiculous 3-month depression, and I was at the point where I was finally able to get out of bed, but not quite sane enough to think logically. I was working as a telemarketer for my mom, of all people (she works for a doctor's office. My job was to call up random people and invite them in for treatment. 48 hours a week. Yuck), and I was working with a great many o'people who had various holes in their bodies, and I decided that it was the thing for me to do. I really wanted to get my tongue pierced (I still do, by the way) but I wasn't allowed to, cause my mom thought that people wouldn't be able to understand me on the phone. Much as I hated that job, I certainly didn't want to get fired. I made damn good money. So, one day I just decided to drive my ass to Uptown Tattoo with Gina and we would get pierced. Uptown Tattoo is in Cincinnati, right next to Bogart's, if you're looking for a place to go to permanently alter your body. I completely reccommend this place. It's very sterile. They're the ones who had done my tattoo a couple of years earlier. Okay, well, they took Gina and me into this room in the back, and since she was most definitely more nervous than I was, they made her go first.

The sight of them jamming that needle into her eyebrow should've been enough to make me change my mind, but it wasn't. Apparently, Gina has really tough skin and they literally had to work it around in there to make it go all the way through. She threw up and then passed out.

Mine went fine.

The thing I didn't really stop to consider was what my sorority sisters would think, since Gina and I would both have these things during rush, and I was not about to take mine out.

Oh my God. I've never heard a more heated debate in all my life. I mean, there was no middle ground in the Alyssa/Gina eyebrow piercing issue, for some reason. The house mother even offered to give us the money to have it redone if we would just take them out for rush. Right, cause a big gaping hole in the middle of our faces wouldn't attract a lot of attention. And let me tell you, I was not in a really big hurry to have them stick me with another needle.

Well, one certain girl named Megan (if I ever had a problem in the sorority, it was generally with her) decided to involve headquarters, who proceeded to have representatives come and talk to us about why it would be inappropriate and offensive to keep them in. I'm not kidding. First of all, would someone please tell me how MY eyebrow ring is, in some way, offensive? Is it flipping you off? When we pass each other on the sidewalk, does it curse at you and call you names? No, I didn't think so.

What is so weird, though, is that the people who were against it never talked to Gina about it. They all attacked ME. I guess I look less threatening? Who knows!

Oh, I forgot the best part. Trying to get me to see their point of view, the stupid bitches from headquarters wanted me to imagine rush as my wedding day (um, I was 20!!??) and would I want an eyebrow ring on the day I get married? Does that logic make sense to anyone here? If it does make sense to you, please pass me whatever it is you're smoking, cause it must be good. My response to this ridiculousness was that I was certainly not in the stage of my life where I wanted to get married; I was in the stage in my life when I wanted to put holes in my face. And I told them that I hope to God that I marry someone who would love me anyway, rings or not.

Apparently I missed the point.

As far as I'm concerned,they never really had one. Anyone who compares rush to their wedding day needs to lay off the peyote. If my wedding day is anywhere near as stressful or awful or exhausting or time-consuming as rush is, I will never get married.

That's a promise.

The dumb thing is that, after all that, I took the stupid ring out a couple of months later cause it was hurting and I just didn't like it anymore.

I think they look really good on some people, don't get me wrong. I just don't know if I can pull off bad-ass. I can't pull off anything!

On a random tangent, I officially hate my voice on the phone. I always think it sounds really low in my head, but alas, it is the most obnoxious, young sounding, high-pitched, perky ridiculous thing I've ever heard.

How do you remedy that?

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23