fish!
fish!
2002-01-18
7:32 p.m.
Fire in the hole!

Want to hear a funny story? Yeah, you do.

Not 10 minutes ago, I'm sitting in my room, when all the sudden I hear Gina scream. Not just a yelp, but a serious blood-curdling yodel. I'm thinking she's seen a rat or something, so I go into the kitcen, when lo and behold, she has set the stove on fire. The stove burner covers are on fire, the towel is on fire, and Gina's just looking at it, while on the phone with her sister, screaming.

She was asking "What do I do? Oh, no, call the fire department!" I told her to throw the towel in the sink, and apparently she misunderstood, cause she picked it up off the stove and threw it back on the stove. So I shouted, "No, the sink! Turn on the water!"

About that time, the fire alarm starts going off.

Then I did the dumbest thing I've ever done.

I attempted to pick up the flaming burner covers with my bare hands. Yeah, I'm in some pain right now.

Anyway, no need to fear; the crisis was averted. It wasn't electrical.

Unfortunately, I don't think we impressed any of the other residents here, since we opened the door to let some of the smoke out, while the fire alarm was still screaming at us.

Gina did finally manage to turn that off.

Whee! It's only Friday night, and I've had an action-packed weekend.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23