fish!
fish!
2002-02-12
4:13 p.m.
a-LYSS-a

Gather round, kids. I am giving a lecture series on the correct pronunciation of my name.

Geez, it's not that hard.

Alyssa. a-LYSS-a

It's not Alicia, Alisha, or Aleesa.

It's NOT Melissa.

It certainly isn't Allison.

Not that there's anything wrong with those names, but none of them are MY name.

God, it's no wonder I spent the vast majority of my youth feeling as though I had no identity. How would you feel if everyone got YOUR name wrong all the time?

So say it with me: Alyssa. Good.

Rhymes with Melissa, but without the "M."

Also rhymes with "I-can't-believe-there-are-so-many-people-in-the-world-who-can't-get-my-fucking-name-right."

Why am I having a poo-fest about my name? Well, I'll tell ya. Now, how long have we been in class this semester? 9 years or something? Dr. Fillmore asks me a question today and calls me "Aleesa". Where is the "eeeee" sound in my name? Where? Do I not know how to spell my own name?

You know what's not sexy? Spending 3 hours on one stupid homework problem. That's not sexy.

Last night, I was looking for more stuff to download and I remembered a song that my friend Kelly, in high school, used to make me listen to no less than once a day: L.L. Cool J's "I need love." Interesting choice of music for the uber-feminist, now bisexual friend of mine.

Regardless, it is now my new theme song.

Shelly talked me into buying baby oil gel to put on my legs after shaving. So I tried it this morning.

First of all, I'm grumpy, cause I was freezing when I got out of the shower and my shaving was all in vain, cause I swear that the hairs on my legs grew three inches when I got out of the shower.

Also, my legs feel kinda greasy. Hmm. Maybe Todd likes that or something. I don't.

That's also not sexy.

Although it does smell good.

La.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23