fish!
fish!
2002-03-15
12:40 a.m.
And it's back to dysfunction as usual

Let the games begin!

So, after multitudes of hang-up calls today, which I submit put me behind in my schedule, I arrived in the fort somewhere around 4:30.

I called Dad at about 5. Honestly I wanted some money, BUT I'm not gonna go there. Anyway, the conversation moved to my absolute favorite question, "Who's your boyfriend now?"

I wanted to tell him it was Norbie, but I think that would just be wrong.

So then he offers to set me up with several of his "people from work." I can't figure out who he means...he works at a fucking juvenile detention center! Does he mean the aging, disgruntled divorced cops or the kids actually in juvy?

So the conversation turns to, "Dad, I'm not ready for a relationship, I don't have time for that, blah, blah, blah." Also, I point out my inability to spend all my time with just one person.

Somehow he takes this as my being gay. What the hell? Just because I don't want a serious relationship with someone (not that I have ANY prospects to begin with), I am suddenly gay?

Don't even ask...it's his twisted logic.

So, we have plans for dinner and a movie tomorrow night. I think I might take either a serious tranquilizer or just get really drunk before I go. It's easier to deal with obnoxious people that way, you know.

(Editor's note: No, I am not serious about this, so don't start going all AA on me. I'm just trying to think of a way to make it through the night with as little friction as possible. I am open to suggestions).

I was going to go into his little speech on what I should do with my life, but I think I'll save that for a later entry.

Good times.

Next, mom, Dan, and I headed over to LaRosa's, my favorite italian restaurant in the city. They make the best calzones. Anyway, our waiter turns out to be Dylan. Oh my goodness. For those of you who know the story of the kid who wanted something "special" for his birthday, this is him. So I'm just thinking all night, "Please don't touch my food! Please don't touch my food! I've seen your penis."

Gross. Almost made me lose my appetite. But not quite.

I'm telling you, the calzones are THAT good.

So, onward we head from there to visit my grandparents. My grandpa is sick again. He was dehydrated, very depressed, and kind of confused. I hate seeing him like that. We stayed there for a while, and my grandmother literally was still talking to us as we drove away. I love my grandma, but seriously. Even I know to end a conversation when the people are driving off.

Oh, in my own defense of Matt's entry earlier today, I didn't "trick" him into going to the game. It was not a bold-faced lie. More of an accidental fib. I meant to tell him the truth, but the other story slipped out.

That's my story and I'm stickin' to it.

Tomorrow, mom is taking me shopping, reluctantly, for my Beaux Arts costume. I think she thinks I have lost my mind. Good, my plan is working.

And then dinner and a movie with Dad. I'm sure that will certainly provide for an interesting entry.

Until then, I'm off to bed!



My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23