fish!
fish!
2002-04-27
11:06 p.m.
Your racist friend

I have no fingernails.

Tonight I went to dinner with my father, as well as my grandparents. Oh, God, I could write a book about these people, but NONE of you are ready for that jelly, and we all know that I am the jam-master. Yes, the keeper of the preserves, that is me.

Essentially, they hate me but never talk about it. They are 100% southern; in essence, being female, and, in their minds, still a child, I should not ever express my opinions. Somehow we wound up back at their house listening to my ignorant grandfather talk about "colored people" and how "they just want money from the government. Damn lazy people don't want to work."

I have no fingernails because I had to keep my hands occupied so I didn't bitch smack him. Also, the angrier I became, the further I slunk into the couch. I was practically in the floor by the end of the night.

But I'm sure the hairs on their necks were standing straight up, as I didn't hesitate in the slightest to tell these people that they were ignorant jackasses.

Without further ado, I present some lyrics that can sum up how I feel right now, far better than I can.

"This was the loveliest party that I've ever attended. If anything was broken, I'm sure it could be mended. My head can't tolerate this bobbing and pretending, listening to this bullet-head and the madness that he's saying.

This is where the party ends. I can't stand here listening to you and your racist friend. I know politics bore you, but I feel like a hypocrite talking to you and your racist friend.

Out from the kitchen to the bedroom to the hallway, your friend apologizes; he could see it my way. He let the contents of the bottle do the thinking. Can't shake the devil's hand and say you're only kidding." - They Might Be Giants, Your Racist Friend.

*sigh* I was literally looking for something sharp to stab in my eye. You never realize just how small-minded your family can be, or how sheltered their lives are until you get this kind of opportunity.

Makes ME wanna holler.

Also, I really hate when people think they know you better than you know yourself, when they don't know you at all. Yar.

In happy news, cause I need some, Johnny is in three days. Three days, people!

Are you hearing me here? Three days.

Three.

Night, kids. I'll catch y'all tomorrow back in Lexington. I never thought I'd say that I missed the kids upstairs and their mechanical bull, but anything is better than my grandparents.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23