fish!
fish!
2002-05-12
11:48 a.m.
And we're still alive!

This whole working world is quite obnoxious. It's seriously fucking with my ability to sleep until 2:30 in the afternoon like I'm used to.

I don't know if two people could've crammed more stuff into one weekend than Matt and I managed to do. Unfortunately, by the time we FINALLY rolled our tired asses into town sometime last night, we were borderline ridiculous.

But whatever.

Damn whores, I'll bet you people all want details. Fine...I'll comply, but only if you buy me a cake.

No, you know what? I think I'd rather have a meximelt.

So, dinner with my dad was actually moderately tolerable, aside from some bizarre and inappropriate comments during the meal. But on the whole, he actually behaved himself.

Mom and Dan actually GAVE Matt and me our tickets for Jammin' on Main - Matt's given as a graduation present with one of those sappy little cards that is so characteristic of my parents.

There was a giant happy face on the calendar in the kitchen at home with the phrase "Matt's coming back!"

Damn.

The actual concert was really wonderful, although we were dropped off about 2 1/2 hours before John Mayer was supposed to play, so we spent the extra time guzzling Country Cocktails and making fun of the common folk. Come on, it was SO easy. I mean, chaps with fringe? What on earth?

And I would like to take this time to point out that if your pants are too small for you, DO NOT go out in public wearing a shirt that emphasizes that (ie. a backless shirt). Jesus tapdancing Christ, people! It's just scary, and somewhere people are trying to eat in peace.

That's all I'm saying.

Saturday, we paraded to the scariest Arby's in history. I'm not kidding. The children I saw in there caused my uterus to make a run out of my body, and my ovaries tied themselves into a knot.

I finally got to see the Cliff. And the two people who spawned my dear traveling companion. Fun stew! Oh my goodness, Matt's parents are the coolest people I think I've ever met. His dad is absolutely hilarious, and his mom is literally the most adorable little woman I've ever seen. And Radcliff was everything I'd dreamed and so much more. They certainly have the market cornered on Chinese food, Bingo, and Pawn shops.

It's the anti-fort. And on this note, I've been thinking about this, and it really surprises me that two people brought up in such completely opposite cities could manage to be so similar.

But I digress.

I finally got to visit the much-publicized Fu Kim Chinese American Buffet. Oh, what an experience. Mashed potatoes and gravy next to crab rangoon and tiny corn dogs! And, oh! Chinese donuts.

I demanded that we go back at least once a month.

By the time we finally rolled back into Lexington, we were exhausted. Actually, we were quite loopy. If you don't believe me, go read Matty's diary. For once I think he makes less sense than I do.

This was certainly one of the most fun, and busiest weekends of my life. And I'd just like to share with all of you the fortune I got in my cookie at Fu Kim, which almost made me choke on my fried sweet corn nuggets:

Ask a friend to join you on your next voyage.

Of course, if you add "in bed" to that, it just provides that touch of class and inappropriateness that I needed.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23