fish!
fish!
2002-06-08
9:40 a.m.
Can't sleep!

I must be crazy...

I spend all week waiting for the weekend and now that it's here I actually slept LESS time than I do any other night. I went to bed at 5. I got up at 9. You do the math.

Truth is, I couldn't sleep to save my life.

Wes told me yesterday that I was "acting like a woman." This may come as a shock to most of you, considering that we all know that I'm really some species of duck. Anyway, it has frustrated me to no end since he said that.

But he's right, though. My expectations of people are far too high. I can hardly expect people to know what I want when I definitely don't. And I don't have any right to expect people to want WHAT I want, especially after I've been repeatedly annoucing that I don't want it.

Or something.

Or I'm just tired.

Mom's coming to town today! She's promising lavish gifts of gold and myrrh, no, wait, that would be true if I were Jesus.

No, she's bringing me something for my computer. I'm hoping that what she brings for my computer is a new computer. Because there I go again with my unrealistic expectations. It's probably a new mousepad or something. She and Dan bought a new computer this week, so there's no telling what they got into at the store.

And if anyone ever wonders where on earth my princess complex comes from, I'm telling you now, it's my mom. She asked if I needed her to bring my tiara.

I really do think I'm a princess.

So this is my new plan in life: I'm going to go to the Cinti. Public Library and check out yearbooks from the year 1980 from all the local high schools and search through them all until I find people who look like me. Because the older I get the more I desperately want to know what my biological parents looked like. Maybe I don't. I have some fantasy that they're going to be the most beautiful people in the world or something. At least now I can pretend that this is true. Some part of me somewhere is telling me that both my mother AND my father are going to have mullets, though.

Oh! Matty and I finally got to go to the International Buffet, or as I'm going to call it from now on, "Crabbo's." What a wonderful haven of strange foods! And it's like a fashion victim extravaganza! They pipe late 80's/ early 90's love songs (in muzac form, no less) into the restaurant, and it's got the tackiest Vegas-style chandeliers with neon blue lighting all around. Basically it's a reformed Shoney's. Oh, if it were a person, I would SO tell it that its body was a wonderland.

And the food! Sushi and pizza, crab rangoon and mashed potatoes...honestly, I thought I was going to fall over from all the excitement.

I might've even peed a little.

So I bought a pair of sunglasses as well. Damb Matt carried a pair all over Target while we shopped, but eventually set them down when I wasn't looking (so as not to incur my wrath). Honestly, I love the boy to death, but they are JUST sunglasses. I highly doubt that the right pair of sunglasses is going to change the rest of your life.

My new ones make me look nothing like Britney Spears. I'm tempted to go out and buy some with colored lenses for when I'm feeling whimsical, because these don't say whimsy at all!

The more we talk about this picture we're having made next weekend at Meijer's, the more excited I get. We've developed some fascinating hairstyles. Matt attempted the "skater cut" that was popular in the later 80s, but the winner was definitely the "flock of seagulls" do that commenced shortly thereafter. I'm thinking of rocking the extra high side ponytail. I really want to do the mall bangs, too, but I just spent a good year growing my bangs out. I think if I tried to curl them, tease them, and spray them up high, my hair would be taller than all of my friends (including Gina!).

Now that I have sufficiently wasted 20 minutes, I think I'll go get ready. Bye, kids!

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23