fish!
fish!
2002-07-10
11:30 a.m.
And I wasn't even bribed!

Do you guys remember those TIME Life Books that they used to advertise about the paranormal, and their little slogan was "Wanna know more? Buy the book."?

I wonder whatever happened to those things? I always wanted to read them, but my parents, wisely picking up early on the fact that my imagination is constantly in overdrive, decided that perhaps I shouldn't read any more "ghost stories."

I dunno where that came from. I was just thinking about it earlier today.

Shelly came storming home last night! I don't think Becky or I had seen her in over 2 weeks, and of course, the first thing she says to me is "It looks like 10 tornadoes went through here."

Her remedy for the situation, apparently, was to bring in 20 more boxes and sit them square in my living room.

Strange girl...

You people are all insanely jealous of me. I got to meet Matt's little kitten first. None of you. Me. And, as ashamed as this will make my entire family, I am smitten. Not a "cat person" by any stretch of the imagination, I grimaced from the first mention the boy made of deciding to get a pet of the feline persuasion. But I'm telling you people, I am head over heels in love with the little critter.

It fell asleep on my chest. I didn't stand a chance. I was seduced, I tell you!

This still doesn't mean it's okay to display floormats with singing cats on them in my apartment, just so you know. I may be lovestruck, but I can still cling to my good taste.

And now for something slightly more serious, my grandpa is back in the hospital. Fortunately, my mother had the good sense to call me this time rather than just sending it in an email with minimal details. And I don't know how she has managed to remain so composed, while I am the one who is an emotional wreck because I'm 100 miles away from EVERYONE else in my family. He had some sort of femoral blood clots and is having to lie very still in his bed (which, if you knew my grandfather, you would understand is damn near impossible for him. What can I say? Restlessness runs in my family). I think he's supposed to have surgery today or tomorrow. I kept insisting to my mom on the phone last night that I could come to Cinti. if they need me there (my grandmother, who is the eternal caretaker of him, has bronchitis. Geez) but she thinks I should stay here. All of the other grandchildren are there, three of them even having come back early from vacation to be with him, but I will stay here, making study guides all day, completely preoccupied with the worries of my family.

Anyway, I'm sure that he will be fine. I just worry. It's what I do best.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23